Slow-Cooker Hearty Beef Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Reminded me of the chili I had growing up. I've made this recipe many times since finding it. I only made two changes to mine. 1) I did without the corn. 2) I added roughly about 1/3 cup of hot sauce for a lil extra something. Of course if you aren't crazy about heat, you can start by adding a few drops here and there and let it simmer for an hour, taste-test it, and go from there to your personal liking. A little heat is nice for this. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I really love this chili! It is not hard to make and the ingredient list is not 12 feet long! I am not a really spicy type person, so I like that this chili is not to spicy, just right. It has a great flavor and my hubby loved it too. We are having leftovers tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this chili recipe for a crowd of 50 and I got nothing but rave reviews! The corn really adds a nice texture. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I have learned that I am not a big fan of having salsa in chili, so that is definitely what affected my rating. I ended up adding a little each Worcestershire sauce, garlic, paprika, cumin. My family did like the final result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheridlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good for such an easy recipe. I did alter slightly by omitting the corn and adding some green pepper and chopped garlic. I feel foolish that it never occurred to me to use salsa as a chili base, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Incredibly plain and boring. The cheese brand is one of the worst available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a good chili. I used a medium salsa, as my husband likes it spicy. Would try a mild salsa next time to see if it is as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made without onion and this was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made it this weekend and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great recipe, I used black beans, kidney beans, and garbanzo beans. Also added a small can of tomato sauce because it seemed too thick. The whole family loved it... a definite addition to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States