Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used a 9-lb spiral cut honey cured ham with the stated brown sugar amounts and cooked on low for 4 hours. I sealed over the ham with foil and then put on the lid. The ham was delicious and very moist. This is a great option for large family gatherings when your oven is being used for other dishes. I'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I am sure this is a great recipe from all the reviews. The problem I had was I have a small crock pot, so I purchased a 3 lb picnic ham which to my delight fit perfectly in my crock pot. I had no idea how to adjust the time difference so I figured 3-4 hours on low. Apparently it was done in about an hour or two. At 3 1/2 hrs it was brown and tough and in the garbage. So I just wanted to write this to help someone in the same predictament.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2065 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Just be sure to buy a picnic ham (picnic shoulder or pork shoulder?)and not a smoked ham like I did! By mistake I used a bone-in smoked ham & this was weird. It turned dark brown and fell apart. Otherwise, am sure it's a good recipe like the others say. Wish recipe had stated to NOT use a traditional smoked ham for us who don't normally buy non-traditional pork cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1612 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! Sooo easy, and it turned out excellent. My husband wanted ham for Thanksgiving, and I knew the oven would be in use, so I wanted a slow cooker recipe. This one was perfect. I used a 2½ pound boneless ham, so I cut the brown sugar down to around 3/4 of a cup (½ cup in the bottom of the slow cooker and 1/4 cup rubbed on the ham). I flipped it around periodically while cooking so all sides would be evenly coated, plus I basted it once in a while with the brown sugar syrup. Even my picky 2-year old daughter (who does NOT like meat) enjoyed it... She finished a whole serving! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Mmmmm - really delicious, and my mother-in-law kept tellimg me how good it was! I used a shank-end spiral-sliced ham and was able to squeeze it into my 7 qt slow cooker by laying it sideways and kind of squishing it in (the spiral slicing made it kind of flexible). One word of caution to anyone wishing to use a spiral-sliced ham.... 8 hours is really too long, try 4 or 5 hours. I can't wait to try this recipe with a non spiral-sliced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Thanks for the recipe! Just a turkey wasn't going to be enough meat for Thanksgiving this year, so being able to cook a ham on the counter and not worry about oven space was a blessing! I studded the ham with whole cloves and layed pineapple rings on top of it as my mom does and added the juice to the brown sugar mixture on the bottom. My guests were in love with the way my house smelled, and by the end of the night there was turkey left over, but not a bit of ham!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
477 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This was the best ham I ever had! I grew up on a hog farm, so I've eaten my fair share of it too. It was so juicy and tender, I had to serve it with a spoon because it just fell apart! My husband absolutely loved it and said that I better hold on to this recipe. I think I can remember it, its so simple. I am a slow cooker novice, and the fact that this recipe had no liquid scared me a little, so I did add a little water to the brown sugar at the bottom to make it soupy, and only used a cup and a half of brown sugar. I don't think I would have needed to though, there was alot of liquid from the ham. Definate keeper! Mmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I only had a small 2.5 lb. ham without a bone and it still turned out great in my small crock pot with 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar. It wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I'm Australian, so I has to use a 2.5 kilosemi-boneless shoulder ham from Woolies. I was worried that one ham and no liquid would result in burnt sugar all over the crock pot, so I added one little juice box of tropical juice and only used 1 cup of brown sugar. This worked beautifully, and the ham was fully cooked (i.e. the ham bone pulled out)after 7 hours. My ham didn't quite fit in the crock pot, to I tightly covered the top of the crockpot with aluminum foil and rested the lid on top, and it cooked just fine. A great way to cook ham! I will definitely use this one again, especially at holidays when you need the oven for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is one of our favorite recipes and have made it a half a dozen times or so. It is so easy to prepare before I go to work in the morning and when I get home it is ready and delicious. What a welcome smell when I walk in the door. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States