Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Just took this out of the crock pot and it's very good. My only complaint would be that I wish I had seasoned it a little bit, aside from the brown sugar. I think it's important for people to note that a picnic ham is not a true ham, like what you'd typically have at Easter or Christmas. Those come from the butt of the pig. A picnic ham is the pigs shoulder and much more like pork than ham (it's also known as pork shoulder)...great for pulled pork sandwiches:) I can see that 8 hours for a true ham may dry it out but for a large picnic ham, 8 hours was perfect for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Awesome recipe!!!!just follow the recipe and make sure you do have an "uncooked" picnic ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Pleasantly surprised. My 7.5lb. bone in spiral sliced ham was perfect on low in about 5 hrs. I did turn it over one time since it just barely fit in crock pot, very moist without being overly sweet. Did not use any glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My family and I love this. Have made it a few times for big family dinners. So easy and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Came out real nice- would definitely make another ham in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
My family really enjoyed this. I've made it 4 times before reviewing. The only alteration I've done is to follow the advice of another reviewer of using aluminum foil to cover the top of the ham and seal it in before putting the lid on. Is soooo nice not to have to tie up my oven to bake the ham for large gatherings. Will definitely be making this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
this is the only way i cook hams now. Mine was spiral already cooked so just put on high for 30 minutes and turned to low for about 2 hours - until we were ready to eat. I actually just put ham in crockpot, poured in 2 cans of chicken broth. Opened pineapple slices put them around and poured half of the pineapple juice - used the rest to baste while it cooked. and put about 1/2 cup of brown sugar around and over the ham. Delicious And easy - can't beat that! Plus it is perfect for a big gathering because it remains hot the entire time. Only thing is for a spiral cut when serving you might want to turn it over - i had people trying to cut it on the butt end while in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used this the first time cooking a ham in the crockpot; it was really moist and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow - this was horrible! I followed the directions and put an expensive ham in for 8 hours on low in my crock pot. Result? Totally burned ham when I came home from work. What a waste of money! H Maybe 2-3 hours max would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wanted to try this ham for Easter because it's always so stressful juggling church, spending an hour driving to and from the inlaws, then getting home in enough to cook my ham in the oven. Was excited to just put it in the crock pot before hand and not having to worry about it. Got my usual 8# butt portion, studded it with some cloves, laid it in crock over some brown sugar (not sure how much I used), put a little more on top and cooked for about 5 hours before pouring some pineapple juice over it. Wanted to make gravy with it as I do with the oven version, but didn't want all the sugar in the juice to burn. As everyone else has said, the ham turns out dark but tastes great. It probably definitely doesn't need to cook as long; mine was borderline dry. While I felt like the flavor of the cloves was better infused in this recipe than when I make my ham in the oven and it was so easy, I probably won't make it this way again because the gravy was awful. But if gravy isn't important, definitely give this ham a try. You can't beat the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States