Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used this the first time cooking a ham in the crockpot; it was really moist and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow - this was horrible! I followed the directions and put an expensive ham in for 8 hours on low in my crock pot. Result? Totally burned ham when I came home from work. What a waste of money! H Maybe 2-3 hours max would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wanted to try this ham for Easter because it's always so stressful juggling church, spending an hour driving to and from the inlaws, then getting home in enough to cook my ham in the oven. Was excited to just put it in the crock pot before hand and not having to worry about it. Got my usual 8# butt portion, studded it with some cloves, laid it in crock over some brown sugar (not sure how much I used), put a little more on top and cooked for about 5 hours before pouring some pineapple juice over it. Wanted to make gravy with it as I do with the oven version, but didn't want all the sugar in the juice to burn. As everyone else has said, the ham turns out dark but tastes great. It probably definitely doesn't need to cook as long; mine was borderline dry. While I felt like the flavor of the cloves was better infused in this recipe than when I make my ham in the oven and it was so easy, I probably won't make it this way again because the gravy was awful. But if gravy isn't important, definitely give this ham a try. You can't beat the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I agree with Debbym about the type of ham. Mine was smoked also. It was ok but dry. Maybe I left it too long in my slow cooker. I will get a picnic ham next time.....however, it sure was easy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I loved how easy this is! I did use half the sugar called for and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Fixed our Easter Ham using this recipe. It was fantastic!!! I will never cook a ham in the oven again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
What an amazing recipe! Everyone at the Easter dinner table was in heaven and said it had better flavor than the expensive honey baked. I used a store brand smoked ham, brown sugar on bottom and sides, covered with foil (ham too large to use lid) cooked on low for 4 hours and was perfect! Moist and very pretty to display. Don't forget the liner bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I have never written a review on any recipe. With this said I need to tell that I always read all review prior to testing a recipe. I made this ham Sunday for Easter. I was very nervous because I had not tried it prior to serving it for a house full of family. It was DELISH! moist and sliced very nicely for the holiday platter. I used two 4 lb boneless hams in the same crock pot. I put a cup of brown sugar on the bottom with a can of pineapple chunks. I did put a little maple syrup on the ham and patted it down with brown sugar. I basted the ham through the process. Ham was ready to cut in five hours on low. I would agree with other reviews no need to ever do a ham in the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe completely except for the addition of cloves per other reviewers. Thank God I did that because it gave the ham flavor it would not otherwise have had. I disliked the fact that it turned the "ham" into "pulled pork". And crockpot prepared meat seems to all be the same when completed...a shredded version of whatever it starts out as...with a "boiled" taste. What a disappointment! Thank goodness it was just prepared for my husband and I, being Easter, I would have been very embarrassed to serve this ham to anyone else! I'm forcing myself to use the remaining ham in other ways...I just don't like to waste food. I plan to make split pea soup, pork tacos, etc. anything to use up the meat. Never again! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We used a 10 lb., bone in, fully cooked, smoked ham. dumped the juice from the pineapple rings in and cooked for just under 4 hours on low. We took the foil off and turned it over once an hour, then put the foil back on. I think it was the best ham I've ever tasted. It was moist, sliceable and pink. PERFECT! My son, who is a picky eater, asked to take home leftovers-which he never, ever does. I wish the scalloped potatoes turned out as good. Oh well, can't win em all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States