Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was AWESOME! And I grew up on a hog farm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I was surprised how well this worked. Since I had a half-ham (about 5 pounds) I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and reduced the time to 6 hours. Based on other reviews, I also added a small can of crushed pineapple and a splash of cider vinegar, to cut the sweetness and brighten the flavor. The prep was extremely simple of course, but it was a bit of a pain to slice and trim, mainly because I wanted to get rid of all the fat. I was also surprised to find how salty the resulting sauce was. It's really too salty to use. The flavor of the ham turns out great, and the sauce is tasty but salty. If I make it again I won't actually save the sauce, just keep a spoon or two to moisten the ham for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I used a 9.5 lb. spiral sliced ham and cooked it on low for four hours with the same amounts of brown sugar. I did add a few tablespoons of water to the bottom of the pot, just in case. I loved it! Great flavor and very tender - lots of liquid for basting at the end. Best of all, I loved being able to throw away the glaze packet that comes with the ham. Whenever I use those, I feel like the ham is too salty. I liked the subtle sweetness of this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for ham … I do add a can of Pineapple Chunks (with the juices) to the ham and baste it often … SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My family loved the ham, with request to make again. I followed directions as stated. My ham was moist and juicy, and so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this ham many times and everyone loves it! So easy and tastes so good. The ham just falls apart and has a great brown sugar ham flavor. I always buy the "ready to cook" hams during holidays and I have never had any problems. For larger hams just cover crockpot with heavy duty foil. I generally cook 11 or 12 lbs in about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I just gotta tell you! My Shank Ham was too big for my Slow Cooker, it was 12lbs instead of 10 and much too wide! I did everything in preparation to the letter then put it in a Lge Roaster and baked it at 300 for 3.5 hours basting every 30mins... Knockout Impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the best way to cook a ham. It came out moist and easy to slice. I was concerned because some of the reviewers said that it fell apart, but it didn't for me. I cooked a 6 pound ham about three hours on low. I usually never eat ham, but this was really very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used a 9 lb spiral cut ham. I followed the recipe except I added 2 cups of pineapple juice as well. I covered my ham tightly with foil before putting the lid on and cooked on low for 3 hours. It was very good. I will be cooking my ham like this from now on (frees up the oven for other dishes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I couldn't believe how wonderfully this turned out! I only had a 6-lb bone-in spiral-sliced ham (so it fit sitting in there nicely), so I used 1.5 c brown sugar, and I did add about a half-cup of water at the bottom. I took the advice of another reviewer and drizzled some honey on top. I put it on "low" for 90 minutes, basted it a bit, then went another half hour and it was good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States