Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was amazing as written. I had a 9.5 lb ham, bone in. Trimmed off a section to make it fit in the crock pot, I just covered the top of the ham with 1cup brown sugar, covered it tightly with tin foil (the ham was too big to allow the lid to fit properly). It cooked for about 8hrs on low. It was so tender, so moist and tasted go good - as long as I can fit my ham in the crock pot I won't cook it any other way in future - although I will try using the full 2c br. sugar to see if it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Yum! Easter ham made remarkably easy! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have had ham this way but after rubbing the brown sugar on, I add a can of crushed pineapple over the ham - I have made this 2 times and had rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was the BEST ham and my whole family LOVED it! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it was wonderful but then I tried different things instead of the brown sugar (honey and crushed pineapple, for example) and it has turned out wonderfully every time. The juices make a great soup base, so be sure to save them! If my ham doesn't fit I simply cover it tightly with foil and this recipe still works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
To the people that have trouble with the ham being too big to get the crockpot lid on, my husband cam with a great idea: Don't use the lid, instead put a domed mixing bowl that the upper rim is about as big as the top of your crockpot, turn the mixing bowl upside down on top of the crock pot and WA LAH! you have a domed lid for the crock pot that covers it and keeps the heat in. This turned out fantastic at Thanksgiving! Thought all the brown sugar might make the gravy taste funny, but it didn't! Wonderful color and flavor. I am making this again tomorrow for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I rub brown sugar on the ham and put some on the bottom of the crock pot (to taste). Then score in a diamond shape, put whole cloves in the score randomly (per taste) and use toothpicks to hold pineapple rings and cherries on. Put it in the crock pot and pore 3 or 4 single serving size cans of pineapple juice in. During cooking, I baste the ham 3 or 4 times. It comes out so juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
It's a miracle! No alterations needed. I used a regular bone-in ham from Safeway, super easy, no fussy end-time, ham released lots of juice. Frees up your oven and your time for other things like skiing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe was simple and awesome. Got rave reviews. I used a ham without a bone and it still came out great and wasn't dry. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Hands down, the best ever ham we've ever had! Moist, sweet and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States