Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Performs a miracle on pressed hams! If you're like me, you're not overly fond of "pressed hams"; they're so packed with water that regardless of how much time you give it in the oven, it still slices in a strange, unnatural, deli-meat style. This method turns them into real meat! The meat almost becomes "flaky", and the water disappears. It leaves a really nice tasting ham. I DID NOT add the brown sugar at all...we're consuming too much sugar already people! I popped a frozen large ham in my slow cooker, for 4 hours on low to thaw it, and then finished it with another 4 hours on high. No need to add water...there's plenty already in the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
It was TERRIBLE. It tasted so bland and awful compared to everything else I made for Christmas that NO ONE would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used spiral cut ham. I didn't use the spices that came with it. just followed this recipe and added pinapple juice & a few slices of pineapple- yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA SEIBERT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Super easy. The only thing was, we had 8lb ham and after 8 hrs still did not read to 160 degree. Turned up to high for another 30 minutes and seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My family really enjoyed this recipe. We will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent and supper easy recipe! If you use a spiral cut ham, heat on low for only a couple of hours. Served it for Christmas Dinner, and it was delicious!. Now to figure out how to the left over juices for soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe is easy and results are excellent. I want to thank Littlemstxthang for the wonderful recipe. I read MANY of the reviews and don't understand why many cooks had so many problems.Here's what I did. I bought a regular bone in ham at the market. Mine was a 6.5 pound, Cook's brand, shank, smoked ham. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I was afraid that the brown sugar in the bottom of the pan would burn. I added about a half cup of pineapple juice on the bottom. I put the ham in cut side down. My ham fit perfectly in my slow cooker. I put the lid on and turned it on low. In my Crock Pot, the low setting allows me to choose either 6 hours or 8 hours. I don't really trust the slow cooker so I don't leave home while it's on. I cooked my ham for about 5 hours. And I basted it periodically. It made lots of juice while it cooked. It turned out tender and tasty. I love the idea that you can make a ham without using the oven. So, it worked out well for me even though I never left home. I will certainly make my hams this way in the future. I was very happy with it. Thanks also to all of the reviewers as I picked up lots of good tips from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made this with a 9 1/2 pound spiral ham for Christmas. 4 hours on low. It was delicious. Everyone commented on how moist it was. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
So delicious! So easy! Popped my 9lb spiral ham in at 1pm on Christmas Eve and went about my day with other meal prep etc. By the time we returned from an early mass (4pm) dinner was ready!! Lots of happy tummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this ham for the first time for our Christmas eve dinner--I can't begin to tell you how amazingly wonderful it was! I had an Organic 8.5 lb. spiral sliced ham and slow-cooked it for about 7 hours. Have never baked a ham in crockpot before--now it's the only thing I'll do in the future! Only thing I did different was add a tad of pineapple juice around the ham and brown sugar- and lightly sprinkled the ham with ground cloves. So, so juicy and fall apart good!!! Thank you for sharing! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States