Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Big Thanksgiving hit! I made a 7.3 pound ham shank and used brown sugar and Splenda blend (diabetic relative) along with a half can of pineapple tidbits and juice. Wow! The family raved over it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dyersville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe is amazing. My family said it was the best ham ever. I used a spiral cut ham. So the only thing I did different was cooked on low for 4 hrs instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I read tons of the reviews and settled on a 9 lb spiral sliced, honey-cured ham. Put brown sugar on it as directed, added pineapple rings and cloves, then sealed it in with foil since the cover didn't fit. Cooked it 3.5 hours on low & slow then let it sit on "warm" for another 45 minutes. It was overcooked, but still had a great flavor. I will cut back to probably 2 hours next time, but will definitely make it again! I also took another reviewer's recommendation to baste it with the juices periodically. You do not need to add any liquid. The ham produces plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Can I use a store bought fully cooked ham? If so how long will it need to slow cook for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was easy, cheap and delicious. I made several meals out of it. I cooked as suggested, but cooked on simmer for the 8 hours because my crockpot runs hot. Also, it's important to use a picnic ham and not a precooked ham like many people seem to have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Super easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I just made this for my family as a midweek treat and even my son, the pickiest eater who doesn't like any kind of meat, called it "rockets", which, to a nine-year-old, means pretty good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Will make again. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Just took this out of the crock pot and it's very good. My only complaint would be that I wish I had seasoned it a little bit, aside from the brown sugar. I think it's important for people to note that a picnic ham is not a true ham, like what you'd typically have at Easter or Christmas. Those come from the butt of the pig. A picnic ham is the pigs shoulder and much more like pork than ham (it's also known as pork shoulder)...great for pulled pork sandwiches:) I can see that 8 hours for a true ham may dry it out but for a large picnic ham, 8 hours was perfect for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Awesome recipe!!!!just follow the recipe and make sure you do have an "uncooked" picnic ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 928) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States