Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Read reviews. i put Dijon mustard all over ham then brown sugar on ham and on bottom of crock pot. stuck cloves and pineapple rings over the top of the ham. poured the pineapple juice from the can on the bottom of the crock with the brown sugar. OUTSTANDING! cooked butt portion of ham on high 2 hours and then turned to low for 4-5 more hours. Ham fell off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Have made this a number of times while RVing. Granddaughter who does not eat a lot of meat, had fourths!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this recipe a few months ago and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it (I watched everyone go back for more and more helpings). I made the recipe exactly as is and added the pineapple per the video. I used toothpicks to secure the pineapple slices to the ham. My ham was not store-bought; it was from a pig we butchered, so I'm not sure of the size, but it was a huge ham. The lid did not fit, so I had to use aluminum foil over the top. It was done in 6 hrs. I left the cooker on warm till serving time. The ham was very moist and there was a lot of juice in the pot. By special request I'm making this ham again this week for the 4th of July potluck we're having. I'm giving this recipe five stars for its simplicity and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used a smoked spiral cut ham both times I used this recipe. The first time I just put ham and brown sugar in the crock pot, for about 2 1/2 hours (my pot heats very slowly), and it was a hit. The second time, I only used 1 cup of brown sugar, placed slices of fresh pineapple on top of the ham and on the bottom of the cooker and did the same with cloves. As soon as the brown sugar melted, I basted it every 30 minutes, if I was in the kitchen anyway, to make sure the pineapple and clove flavor permeated the meat. This one got RAVE reviews from the carnivores in the crowd and there were no leftovers. Even the vegetarian cook thought it smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I will NEVER bake ham in the oven again. NEVER! Seeing was believing when it came to how juicy this ham was. The crockpot (with the ham still in it) was probably 1/3 full of juice. I always bag up the leftovers into individual size portions and vacuum seal the packages. I added juice to each package to ensure that in the months to come, the ham would be as juicy as the day I made it. So easy. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was AWESOME! And I grew up on a hog farm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I was surprised how well this worked. Since I had a half-ham (about 5 pounds) I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and reduced the time to 6 hours. Based on other reviews, I also added a small can of crushed pineapple and a splash of cider vinegar, to cut the sweetness and brighten the flavor. The prep was extremely simple of course, but it was a bit of a pain to slice and trim, mainly because I wanted to get rid of all the fat. I was also surprised to find how salty the resulting sauce was. It's really too salty to use. The flavor of the ham turns out great, and the sauce is tasty but salty. If I make it again I won't actually save the sauce, just keep a spoon or two to moisten the ham for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I used a 9.5 lb. spiral sliced ham and cooked it on low for four hours with the same amounts of brown sugar. I did add a few tablespoons of water to the bottom of the pot, just in case. I loved it! Great flavor and very tender - lots of liquid for basting at the end. Best of all, I loved being able to throw away the glaze packet that comes with the ham. Whenever I use those, I feel like the ham is too salty. I liked the subtle sweetness of this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for ham … I do add a can of Pineapple Chunks (with the juices) to the ham and baste it often … SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My family loved the ham, with request to make again. I followed directions as stated. My ham was moist and juicy, and so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States