Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This has ruined me from cooking ham any other way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Glover
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I recently made this recipe and thought it was great. It's difficult to adjust large recipes down to two even with the ability to change the servings..I usually buy a honey smoked sliced ham and divide it into enough slices for 3 meals. One to cook and freeze the other two. I used about 2/3 cup of brown sugar on the bottom of my small slow cooker and 3 or 4 tablespoons on the rest of the ham.. I drained a can of peach halves and arranged them around the ham and cooked it on low for 2 hours. My husband and I thought it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Perfect! My whole family loved it. I would shorten the cooking time. Mine was ready at 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Performs a miracle on pressed hams! If you're like me, you're not overly fond of "pressed hams"; they're so packed with water that regardless of how much time you give it in the oven, it still slices in a strange, unnatural, deli-meat style. This method turns them into real meat! The meat almost becomes "flaky", and the water disappears. It leaves a really nice tasting ham. I DID NOT add the brown sugar at all...we're consuming too much sugar already people! I popped a frozen large ham in my slow cooker, for 4 hours on low to thaw it, and then finished it with another 4 hours on high. No need to add water...there's plenty already in the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
It was TERRIBLE. It tasted so bland and awful compared to everything else I made for Christmas that NO ONE would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used spiral cut ham. I didn't use the spices that came with it. just followed this recipe and added pinapple juice & a few slices of pineapple- yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA SEIBERT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Super easy. The only thing was, we had 8lb ham and after 8 hrs still did not read to 160 degree. Turned up to high for another 30 minutes and seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My family really enjoyed this recipe. We will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent and supper easy recipe! If you use a spiral cut ham, heat on low for only a couple of hours. Served it for Christmas Dinner, and it was delicious!. Now to figure out how to the left over juices for soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe is easy and results are excellent. I want to thank Littlemstxthang for the wonderful recipe. I read MANY of the reviews and don't understand why many cooks had so many problems.Here's what I did. I bought a regular bone in ham at the market. Mine was a 6.5 pound, Cook's brand, shank, smoked ham. The directions said to bake it at 325 for 25 minutes per pound. The packaging said: Hickory Smoked, Super Trim. And, actually it was a very lean ham. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I was afraid that the brown sugar in the bottom of the pan would burn. I added about a half cup of pineapple juice on the bottom. I put the ham in cut side down. My ham fit perfectly in my slow cooker. I put the lid on and turned it on low. In my Crock Pot, the low setting allows me to choose either 6 hours or 8 hours. I don't really trust the slow cooker so I don't leave home while it's on. I cooked my ham for about 5 hours. And I basted it periodically. It made lots of juice while it cooked. It turned out tender and tasty. I love the idea that you can make a ham without using the oven. So, it worked out well for me even though I never left home. I will certainly make my hams this way in the future. I was very happy with it. Thanks also to all of the reviewers as I picked up lots of good tips from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 910) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States