Slow Cooker Ham and Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I happy to be the inaugural reviewer (and photo submitter) of this recipe and be able to give it such a glowing review! I've never really gotten the phrase "comfort food" before. I mean, I understand what it means/what it is, but nothing has ever really screamed COMFORT FOOD in my world. Until today. It's unseasonably cold and dreary and I could not wait to get home and taste this. It did not disappoint...."comfort food" popped into my head a first bite. I followed the recipe, though I did slightly increase everything to use potatoes and ham I had on hand. This will become a slow cooker staple in the LTH house. THANKS for the recipe, Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this for dinner. It was very hearty - comfort food is a great description for it. It could almost be served as a breakfast item. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwood1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I added garlic salt since that's a favorite in my house. The potatoes cooked up just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I didnt have the cream of tartar and I didnt need so much milk but overall this is an ok recipe. At the end I tasted it and added a big spoonful of reduced fat sour cream and some garlic salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was a great use for leftover ham! Very easy to prepare and tasted wonderful! I made exactly according to recipe and everyone in my family really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I hate giving bad recipe reviews, because I feel like taste is such a personal thing. However, this recipe did not work for us at all. The sauce completely broke. We ended up with a soupy mix, and it wasn't soupy in a good way. It didn't taste right either. I found it barely edible, and I'll eat anything! For the amount of work that it took to make the milk sauce, I really wanted it to work. I may have an issue with my crock pot getting too hot... since it worked for others (that still doesn't fix the taste issue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Will definitely make this again. A great meal with minimal time. I found the 9 hrs way too long - it was cooked to our satisfaction in 4 hours on low, using the fully-cooked smoked ham. Also threw in a layer of sliced mushrooms, a few cloves, and a dash of Frank's HotSauce - I put that s**t on everything. Gave it just the added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I made it just as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Our family loved this recipe. I used smoked sausage instead of ham, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It took about 3 1/2 hours on high in my crock pot. Perfect busy-day supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It was an easy fix with left over ham. I did just a couple things different. I melted 2 Tb butter and stirred in the flour, then the milk (I used almond), and stirred over medium heat until thickened. I also added Ranch dressing mix as someone else suggested. I used only 4 potatoes. I put it on high in the crockpot, but it was done in about three hours. It did not separate as a couple reviewers had problems with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States