Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Had some leftover spiral cut honey glazed ham and the ham hock so gave this one a go. It was very flavorful and easy. I cut back on the brown sugar since I already had the honey glaze going on. I will probably cut it in half the next time I make it. Started with about 2 cups of chicken stock for the liquid and then added water on top of that. Also added a cup of freshly diced onions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe just how it was. I love non-spicy food but it was too bland, overall so "meh" we're having a hard time finishing it. Two stars only because 12 hours was the right amount of time to cook the beans, they're soft but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. We added the brown sugar and tried everything to undo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It is so yummy and easy. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar because the reviews said that it was too sweet and it came out great. I made bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I omit the brown sugar, because I pick up a ham bone at the Honey Baked Ham Store for a few bucks. They trim the spiral sliced meat off the bones for sandwiches and to sell in smaller quantities than a whole ham. There is still a large amount of ham on the bone that didn't get used for those purposes: perfect for a batch of beans or pea soup. I live alone and this recipe is perfect for portioning into zip freezer bags for a quick warm-me-up in the winter. Awesome with PBJ sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecruz Denver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This turned out great for us! I used a leftover ham bone that still had lots of ham and was particularly tasty in this dish and I cooked it in the slow cooker for 8 hours which was probably at least an hour too long (but still great.) I did not add the sugar because I already know we don't like sweet Northern beans and I added a bay leaf which I think really added to the taste. I probably added more garlic than the recipe called for. You can definitely taste that small amount of cayenne pepper. We loved this dish but I think the quality of the hame bone/meat may be key to making this a great one...ours was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
We used a diced red onion and two minced cloves of garlic, sauteed in a little butter with the ham, and ham stock for part of the water. Did not find this too sweet at all. Good beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Did not care for the combination of sweet and cayenne of this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Doubled the ham and used chicken broth. We did not find it too sweet, and like the brown sugar/cayenne combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Its so delicious and easy. My family loved it. I only put 1/3 cup brown sugar due to other reviews. It was delicious but I will try 1/2 cup and follow the recipe next time because 1/3 wasn't even detected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States