Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was easy. I also added carrots and celery and assorted spices but I don't this this was anything special. Will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I added some carrots and celery. I also used Great Northern beans instead of Garbanzo Beans. I added some chili powder and cumin as others had suggested, but even without draining the cans of beans it seemed to not have enough liquid for the slow cooker, so I added some water just to give it more liquid. This is really flavorful. Its not at all like a plain bean and ham soup. It is really good, and makes A LOT for leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Easy, delicious, and makes enough for 6-8 people...great way to use leftover ham. I used black-eyed peas, pinto beans, and Great Northern beans, sauteed chopped onion, garlic, and celery in hot oil before adding it to the pot. I also used a seasoning salt. The flavor was great and I even forgot to dollop some sour cream on it. Served with buttermilk cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I didn't like the syrupy can juices from the beans, found it unpleasant eating this just as a stew. Eating the leftovers over brown rice helped a lot. Also, I thought it needed more spices, and added chili powder, cumin and a lot of black pepper. Glad I did. I added some chopped bacon, but I'll skip that next time. It becomes chewy after being the slow cooker. Maybe could top with the bacon after it's done. I do really like this bean and ham combination. So, next time I will drain the beans (except the chili beans of course) and make some other kind of gravy thing. Not sure what yet. Hot peppers and/or bell peppers would be great in this. This would also be good as a soup, with chicken stock and some dark leafy green like kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Tastes more like soup than stew. Mine came out watery. Had to drain out most of the liquid. Made great veggie burritos. Wouldn't eat it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The first time that I made this recipe was last winter when I needed to use up some leftover ham. I loved it then, but somehow didn't save it to my recipe box. I am happy to find it again and can't wait to make it soon. I followed the recipe exactly...the dollop of sour cream takes this soup over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Sorry, I just was not that impressed. Tasted pretty much like some canned beans and ham, even though I added in 1/3 cup ketchup, 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, and 1/4 tsp season salt. And I so love using my crock pot; really wanted it to be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is extra easy and very flavorful & filling! The perfect Super Bowl food--start this in the morning and by game time--it will be ready!! I only made a few changes. I used 16 oz of frozen black eyed peas because that is what I had and used one can of white kidney( cannellini) beans instead of garbanzo, again because that is what I had on hand. I didn't drain any of the canned beans.I also diced up 4 carrots and 3 ribs of celery and sauteed them with the onion and garlic--which I increased to 4 cloves. I also added 6 slices of browned and crumbled bacon with a few tsp. of the drippings to the stew plus 1 tsp. of chili powder and some fresh ground black peper. The ham & the bacon added enough salt. It simmered all day on low and was perfect for supper with the sweet cornbread recipe ( found on this site) and cole slaw. Even my VERY picky 10 year old daughter loved this stew. My parents happened to stop by,& since this makes plenty, they stayed and enjoyed it too!! My dad said this is the best bean soup he'd ever had so my mom took the recipe home! Hard to believe something so simple made with common ingredients could be this tasty! For a little extra kick--some of us added a few shakes of green jalapeno hot sauce. This is a winner--just like the Indy Colts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BW
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My husband and I love this receipe!!! Our children said, "What is that smell and do we have to eat it." Last time I made it, I cooked the carrots in a butter/brown sugar mixture before adding them in. I sauted the onions and celery together, and put in some whole peppercorns. I like this because it is so easy and and husband pleasing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laverne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Perry, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Loved the taste and the texture. I added carrots as suggested by others and also some vegetable stock. I did not use the slow cooker but put the pot into the oven instead until it is bubbling hot at about 180 degrees. Healthy dish as I also served it with black rice. My husband loved it and finished the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States