Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Will make again soon. Added a 1/2 cup tomato sauce and 1 tsp siracha hot sauce to give a little zip.,was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingupchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Delicious. Just made a pot of this soup. Great way to use up my Christmas ham. I didn't have the Northern Beans on hand and I added celery. Everything else done according to recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Amazing soup recipe! Definitely add a can of diced tomatoes (I used the ones with garlic and onion)...Added a can of chick peas and white kidney beans instead of the 15 bean soup mix because I didn't realize they needed to soak overnight...Will be making this soup again anytime I have leftover ham...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I had ham broth from another ham bone so I used that in place of chicken broth other then that I followed the recipe as written. I served it for Sunday dinner and barely had enough left over for lunch today. Our guest loved loved loved it to the tune of second and third helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great soup and great way to use up the Christmas ham. I Also wanted to spice it up so added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and one can of regular diced tomatoes with all the juice. I added in more spices and garlic and some chopped celery. The house smelled so good, makes a ton of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great soup!! I added chopped cabbage and diced potaoes for an even more heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly BUT I added 1 more cup of water and 1 more cup of chicken broth as I had more ham than it called for and I'm glad I did. WOW did this turn out good and so easy too. Soaked my beans the night before, threw it all in the slowcooker in the morning and came home to a wonderful pot of soup! YUM! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo2459

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious! I added more liquid and a can of diced tomatoes. It was even better on the second day. A great meal with some hearty bread or a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We didn't have a ham bone or add the northern beans. Our package of beans came with ham flavoring, which we added for additional flavor. I would probably add more liquid and a smaller pack of beans next time. Even after soaking overnight (and adding more water to the soaking after a couple hours because it was all soaked up!) it was more beans and less soup for us. Definitely the flavor was delicious and we have been eating leftovers of it for a few days. I recommend serving with cornbread or a sourdough loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was delicious. I left out the ham bone...didn't have one and added a can of chopped tomatoes. The whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States