Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Suprisingly enjoyed, used it as filling for burritos, even my 2 year old loved it, and my foodie sister raved. The only thing I altered was to decrease the jalapeno to 1, and made sure to season well with salt and pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Somehow after all that cooking the tomatillos didn't shine through as much as I had hoped. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very good and very easy to prepare. I omitted the water entirely and reduced the amount of salsa to one can. This makes a fabulous filling for fresh bakery roll, burrito, enchilada, taco, etc. Or, fry the leftovers in a skillet w/hot oil and serve with eggs for breakfast. Speaking of leftovers, this recipe freezes well for up to a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I didn’t know what to expect of this dish, but I love tomatillos, so I had to try it! First, I used 2 lbs of pork roast, what I had on hand. Store didn’t have canned tomatillos, so I used the Salsa Verde. Based on other reviews I used a 12oz bottle of beer in place of the water and also added two cans of white beans so I could eat it as a stew/soup. I let it cook on low for 8 hours, then shredded the pork and put back in the crockpot for about an hour. Turned out fantastic! I like my dishes spicy, so next time I’ll add some hot sauce or crushed red pepper, the japalenos didn’t make it spicy enough for my taste. Turned out great, can't wait to eat the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delicious. My only change was to use 1 one pound pork tenderloins. This reduced the cooking time to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Do not add any additional salt. I added salt and I feel that it made mine too salty. I took this to a Cinco de Mayo party and people loved it. I did what others said and used 2 jars of Pace Salsa Verde- tomotillo salsa in place of the tomotillas. It was so simple and easy. I recieved so many compliments all night long. Mine was the first dish to be completely finished out of 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I also used the tomatillo salsa verde with 2 cans of chicken broth. Then, I made a gravy base to add it to. It came out much thicker more like guisado. We were all surprised at how tasty the pork was! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I substituted a jar of salsa verde and some chopped fresh tomatillos for the canned ones, because I could not get the cans. We liked this very much, though it was a bit watery when it was fresh; however, it thickened up quite a bit in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Soooo good...followed advice of others and just got the verde sauce as it had the tomatillos in there with the garlic etc...I did add minced garlic on top of that also and maybe not as much liquid as mentioned. Did add more chicken broth than water. But it was sooo good. Next time, I will add some carrots, radishes and some other veggies to make it more of a soup. We had it rolled in tortillas, like an enchilada and it was excellent. This dish gets even better over the following days. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I love Guisado and have been looking for a good / great recipe for some time. I'M STILL LOOKING FOR A GOOD RECIPE!!! This was a real disappointment - especially after the great reviews. I followed several suggestions: salsa verde, reduced water / beer, added jalapenos .... The consistency was good, color was good, but lifeless and bland. Still looking for a good recipe for guisado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States