Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We fried up corn tortillas and did the normal taco fare of tomatos, cheese, avacado, cilantro, and of course hot sauce. Amazing! Even put the left over meat back in the pot with the juices and other ingredients and will eat it like a stew for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was super easy and yummy. I substituted 2 jars of Herdez salsa verde for the tomatillos, chilies and jalapenos, and chicken broth for the water (made it a little salty so next time I will not add extra salt). Delicious served over rice - I think it will be even better tomorrow. The pork just falls apart - melt in your mouth yummy! Good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was really really good. I did not add water, but used the juice from the large can of tomatillos. 2 fresh jalapenos was perfect for us, but too hot for the little one. She did not like it. We used pork loin as the meat instead. Made excellent tacos (wet ones since there was a lot of juice). I will make this again, as it is husband-approved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Giddings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is seriously amazing. I made very few changes and they all had to do with just making it easier for me. I like som otheres used salsa verde 2 16 oz bottles instead of the tomatillos since canned they are hard to come by. Other than that I probably didn't use quite as much cilantro as called for. I made twice and the first time I did brown the pork, I used pork loin. The second time though I was putting everything in the crockpot the night before and having someone else take it out of the fridge and turn on the next day so I didn't brown it. I was unsure if browning it and then putting it in the fridge would be safe. I couldn't tell a difference either way. I did use straight water but just 3 coffee mugs full and I did put a couple chicken bouillon cubes in it to up the flavor. Got tons of rave reviews. And since after the meat is shredded and mixed back w/ the juices there is still so much juice left I actually heated up some posole in the juices separately and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious! I only used 1 jalapeno so it would be kid friendly. Has a nice little kick, but not too spicy. I also added 1T of Caldo del Pollo (powdered chicken bullion) to flavor the broth (this is a cheap, easy substitute for the chicken broth advice everyone gave). I saw the advice about using jarred green sauce, but if you saw how beautiful and delicious the onions and garlic looked after sauteing the pan juices I'm not sure you'd want to substitute for the fresh ingredients. When the pork was done, I lifted the roast out and used my immersion blender to make a smoother sauce, then returned the pork and shredded it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
EXCELLENT! I accidentally bought "pork for carnitas" - twice as much meat for the same price - and it was still delicious. With fresh tomatillos, Dos XX rather than water (suggested below), about a Tbsp of cumin, and a bag of frozen corn thrown in at the end (the sweetness is great with the tangy tomatillos!), it was really incredible. My first way to serve it was with the "baked tortilla chips" also from this site. I can't wait to have the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a tasty basic recipe, but I think it needs more to be an actual stew. I made it as directed, but afterwards wished I had thrown in some veggies or beans. We ate it as tacos with frijoles and cheese. I'll make it again, but will add more to serve as a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I doubled the meat by mistake with a pork shoulder blade roast, it was fine, but probably more tomatoes (I used tomatoes, couldn't find tomatillos, should have added lime juice to add tartness) would have been better to balance the additional meat. One jalapeno is plenty for medium heat even when I doubled the meat-to-pepper ratio (you can taste it, but it isn't persistent in your mouth). If you get a jalapeno burn when chopping up the pepper, by the way, the sour cream you need for this recipe does the trick. I tripled the garlic, but I like a lot of garlic. Recommend serving over brown rice, or with a big hunk of fresh bread. Of course, I made several significant departures from this recipe, so who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I loved this, my husband thought it was okay. I used chicken broth instead of water and a couple extra cloves of garlic. I will make it again for sure, next time around I will add an extra jalapeno. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I was also disappointed with this recipe. Maybe it would have been more exciting if I had also used salsa verde instead of the tomatillos called for in the recipe. As it was, after hours of anticipation, there was just nothing to get excited about. It went in the fridge to hide, knowing that it wasn't going to be touched again. I let it hide for two days, then resurrected it by adding a fresh can of chicken broth, 1/4 cup quinoa, a couple of diced potatoes, a few sliced carrots and for seasoning I added cumin and a ittle chipotle chili powder to give a nice smoky flavor. After a 30 minute simmer on the stove my crew ate this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States