Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Used martha's tomatillo blend, Still added cilatro and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've been searching for a chili verde recipe that would be similar to that at one of our favorite restaurants. This is closer than I have gotten before, but it had too much liquid and not enough heat. I followed the recipe pretty closely but it had a kind of vinegar-y taste. Next time I will put less tomatillos and use a pepper that has more heat than a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We really enjoyed this over rice. I used the ingredients as written, but cooked it on the stovetop as more of a stew, leaving the pork in tender chunks. I also used chicken broth, though less than called for so the consistency would be thicker. It was very flavorful, somewhat tart without being overly so. I can imagine several ways to use this as a filling or topping and look forward to making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope Hard Wilkens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Not sure why this recieved such high reviews. This was edible at best. The meat was very greasy and the flavor was weak. And that was even with using chicken broth instead of water. I wont bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written, but since I could not find canned tomatillos, I used 1.5 pounds of chopped, fresh tomatillos. I found the finished product to be bland, and much too "sharp" (practically lemony) from the fresh tomatillos. I added: 2T cumin, 1/2t cinnamon, extra salt, and a sprinkling each of tapioca and corn meal to thicken it (I got this idea from another Guisado Verde recipe). It was better after those additions, but still not great. The acidity from the tomatillos overpowers everything. Then I added some white cannellini beans to see if that helped. Not really. I am a huge chili fan, and make it at least twice a month (including many green chili varieties). I can't believe I'm saying this, but I wouldn't recommend making this with fresh tomatillos. It's just too acidic and nothing I add to it helps. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Not what I call a real mexican recipe as my wife is Mexican and we call this dich chili verde(green chili sauce) but we only use fresh tomotillos,Anihym chilis and jalapenos or serrano chilli's which are simmered in chicken stock for about 1 hour only the stems are removed from the chili's then they are run through the blender using some of the stock poured over the browned meat (cubed)and allowed to simmer we make large batches so you need about 4 lbs of tomotillos,8 to 10 of each type chili (we like it spicy)simmer for a couple hours serve with Mexican rice and flour or corn tortillas enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JS Mooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Meh. So-so. My hubs was by far a bigger fan than I was. Don't get me wrong.... This wasn't terrible (I had two servings), it was just really boring. To be fair, I did make several changes, hence my 4 star rating. I can't justify a lesser rating because I feel what I did significantly impacted the outcome (and to my surprise, not in a good way). Instead of using canned tomatillos, I subbed (2) 32 oz. jars of Herdez salsa verde (I already had one barely used jar in the fridge that I wanted to use up anyways). I omitted the jalapenos and diced green chilies, but still added the onion and garlic. I subbed chicken broth for water (to add flavor), added a 29 oz. can of (drained) hominy and ended up using a pork loin filet because my grocer didn't have any 2 lb. shoulder roasts available. In retrospect, I think whole tomatillos would have been perfect. They would have added some texture (as is, my stew was very soupy). I won't pass over making this again, but when I do, I'll be sure to NOT make any major alterations. I do however, feel that subbing chicken broth or beer for water and adding hominy or cannellini beans are a good idea and would make those adjustments again. Shredded Monterey-jack cheese, cilantro and a dollop of sour cream were nice garnishes. Thanks for sharing, Fastcooker! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is tasty and as someone at party said, "authentic". That's what I want to hear! I followed other reviewers advice and went without the quart of water. Believe me, the meat generates a LOT of juices. We used the pork in tacos so I didn't want extra liquid, but if you want to enjoy this as a stew, add the water or broth. I used two jalapeños and they added that authentic heat, not too crazy, but warming. Very tasty with cilantro, guacamole, finely chopped white onion and lime wedges on the side. I added some of the delicious juices to canned black beans on the stove top for a quick side dish. Thanks FAstcooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe. Just the right amount of kick. I couldn't find canned tomatillos so I used 24 oz diced fresh tomatillos. I used chicken broth instead of water and a slightly larger roast. I think you really need a shoulder roast to get the right texture. I don't think this would be as good with a loin roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States