Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We live overseas and our base commissary did not have canned tomatillos, so I followed other reviewers' suggestions and substituted them for Herdez salsa verde. I also substituted the quart of water with two Coronas and two cups of chicken broth. Ours turned out more like a soup, but it was delicious nonetheless. It had just enough of a zing without being too spicy. I did not brown the pork or saute anything, just mixed it all up and dumped it over the pork. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I wish I would've read the reviews and used broth. I used water, and this was pretty bland. As is, I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Tried the entire recipe as written, exxcept for cilantro, which we both dislike. Used fresh parsely instead. Smelled good as it cooked, but felt the dish was bland with little real punch or flavor. I really wouldn't recommend wasting 2-3 lbs of good pork shoulder, 2 hour' time and 7 hours of cooking for the result we obtained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
If use make this exactly as written it doesn't have much flavor. I ended up reading reviews after I got home that evening and tasted what I was hoping was a very good dinner. Went through the kitchen looking for the right things to add that I had on hand. I added about 2 tsp of chicken flavored better than bouillon, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, chopped the rest of the bunch of cilantro and added it, found about 1/2 jar of salsa verde, about 1/3 cup of chopped jarred jalapeños, some chipotle lime chulula and salt to taste. Served with sour cream, shredded cheese and diced avocado. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Simply put - this was delish! I did make a few changes because of what I had at home and what the store did not have. And to fit our tastes a little too. One can of tomatillos, 1 c. of salsa verde, I had homegrown roasted, seeded, & peeled anaheim, 1 serrano, 1 jalapeno, I used chicken base, and less water. I served it over black beans & rice (kinda like Qdoba does with their chicken tortilla soup). The DH loved it too and said it was a keeper. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiliki
Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
WOW! I had to tweak this a little because I couldn't find canned tomatillos (used Herdez Salsa verde as someone else suggested). We like things spicy, but I omitted the canned chiles and jalapeno because I didn't have any, and I still think it's plenty spicy. YUM!!! I used a one #roast for my small family and cut it into chunks before browning so it would cook a little faster, used one can of salsa verde and one small can of chicken broth instead of the water, was pretty liberal with the onions, garlic and oregano, and it's "soupy" enough that I'll add some barley or quinoa before serving to make it more "stew" like. I plan to reserve some of the meaty filling to use in tacos or burritos later in the week. I cooked it on high for the first four hours, then switched it to low, and it's falling-apart tender after two more hours on low. Oh-and I added a hefty dash of cumin to the mix, just cause we like it. Sorry to folks who don't like it when reviewers review recipes with changes, but this came out so awesome, I had to share. It'll be a great "spice things up" dinner for a very cold, blah winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe so much that I couldn't help but tweak it a little bit. First, I cut the pork into pieces no larger than 2-3" in any dimension before browning it. This added a bit more 'browned meat' flavor to the mix. This also reduced time in the slow cooker to about 4-1/2 hours but extended the preparation time by about 15-20 minutes. I then used about a 1/4 cup water to get the rue out of the pan. Why leave that flavor in a pan or washed down a sink? Second I use a pound of fresh tomatillos cut in halves or quarters depending on size. Because the fresh tomatillos lose a lot of water during the cooking cycle, no water was added except that used to get the rue out of the pan. I did have to stir the mixture a few times in the slow cooker to ensure the ingredients on top exchanged places with those on the bottom for the best result. A little more work but I think it was well worth it. As an added bonus this makes an excellent taco ingredient: 1 white corn soft tortilla (heated), 1 heaping tablespoon or so of this excellent dish, a light sprinkle of shredded jack cheese, a nice bit of chopped cilantro (to taste), a dash of hot sauce (also to taste), (optional) a few drops fresh lime juice which works well with the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I have made it 2 times and changed the following both times to make sure it was consistently wonderful. I used Boneless Pork Roasts(2 pack at my local store), inexpensive, lean and less waste. I used 1 1/2 to 2 pounds of Fresh Tomatillos, roasted on my bbq till soft and marked well. Used Vegetable Broth instead of water and Mexican Oregano. Other ingredients the same as recipe. I place pork on bottom of Slow Cooker, Everything else on top of pork. After cooking on high for 7 hrs in slow cooker, remove pork. Strain tomatillos, peppers, etc. Save the broth. Blend to make a beautiful Verde sauce, add broth to achieve the desired sauce consistency. Put pork back in broth to keep warm and moist till serving. I serve with roasted red or yellow potatoes. Can freeze leftover pork and sauce. I use leftover pork, reheated with some of the Verde sauce and broth and shred it to make Fried rolled taco's. It's all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh MY GOSH! This is great! It smelled so good that when we served it up we forgot the sour cream and cheese... and didn't miss them! Fabulous recipe and so simple! I removed the seeds from the jalapeños but left the core and the heat seemed pretty moderate to me. Next time I'll try it with chicken broth, and maybe another time, I'll make it with chicken instead of pork... seems like that would work as well! Sort of a Latin version of coq-au-vin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States