Slow Cooker Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Puts Manwitch to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This dish is delicious! I made it almost exactly as written, except I used onion powder (my kids have a texture problem with onions) and I left out the celery seed because I didn't have any on hand. I left it in my slow cooker for about 6 hours, although I'm sure it was edible before that. My only criticism would be - this recipe needs a different name. I was not sure what it was until I read the comment comparing it to Manwich - then I knew to serve it on buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Ok, I followed this as written aside from the celery seed and splenda because I had none. I hate to give something a bad rating but it really didn't taste good at all! The vinegar taste was so strong it burned my mouth...and the mustard was overpowering. I used honey instead of splenda...and way less than called for because ketchup has plenty of sugar already. I definitely would not try this again. Not even a variation of it. I'll go back to "winging it" when I do a homemade version of manwich....which has turned out better than this one. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is excellent and easy! I love meals that are large enough to feed all four of my kids plus my husband and I and still have leftovers. Meals that all of my kids like are few and far between, but this is one of them. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
A good recipe but I din't put as much ketchup as it says, instead I add 1/2 cup of tomato sauce. My family liked it but thought the flavour was a bit too strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
tasted like nothing but ketchup. was like meatloaf but sorta stew-esque
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
greg liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I did not make this to be served on buns, but as a topping for hot dogs. It was adequate for our purposes (though still not exactly what I'm looking for), but on a bun these would be way too tangy for our taste with all that vinegar and mustard. I much prefer Allrecipes' Sloppy Joes II recipe for a loose meat sandwich. Much better balance of flavors used with very similar ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Tastes like a sweet sloppy joe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I would give this a much higher rating were it not for the artificial sweetener that someone added to the recipe. Splenda is not a stable sweetener at all. Depending on what else is in the recipe it can go from exceedingly sweet to bitter. Lose the Splenda and go for 1/2 cup brown sugar instead. Decrease the catsup to 1 cup and be sure and use lean ground beef. A very good basic recipe with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States