Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by meditran
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Yummy!!! I too did not have enough ketchup, so I used the 2 cups of Ketchup I had on-hand, added one 8-ounce can of tomato sauce, and 1/2 cup of Costco/Kirkland Signature Organic Salsa. I also added 1/2 of a red bell pepper, 1-1/2 tsp celery seed seasoning (instead of the fresh celery), 1-1/2 tsp Cumin and, of course, 4 extra cloves of garlic. The only thing I will modify on the recipe above to my preference the next time around will be to add in 1/2 tbsp of the vinegar. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. :) I will definitely be using as appetizers with mini-buns for my next large gathering!! I truly enjoyed it and it was WONDERFUL in my lettuce wrap!!(shared a picture for you all above). Aloha ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My whole family loved this, and I thought it was great too. The only change I made was I used 3 cups ketchup and 1 cup barbecue sauce. It was tender and delicious, and would probably reheat well but I didn't have any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Super simple! I didn't use the brown sugar and didn't miss it at all. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Now my new Sloppy Joe recipe! Everyone loved it! I did not change anything. I served it on crusty bread! It was also good on hamburger buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Tried this recipe for July 4th I left out the celery and it was a really big hit everyone said this was a keeper. It was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I followed recipe exactly, but bit salty for my taste. Maybe next time, I'll omit the salt. It was better with my toast. I will make again, but with moderation from other viewers to add some cumin or little bit of taco seasoning? Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family has never been a fan of "Canned" Beef BBQ sandwich, but I had a ton of ground beef and a new slow cooker so decided to give this a try!! It is amazing & only half done. (I prepared it the night before & will cook it on low all day while I work tomorrow) I took several review suggestions including using Plain BBQ sauce (Added spices, a dab of Hickory Flavoring & splash of honey), also added a touch of Pickle Juice and can of Tomato sauce. So far it's amazing & wanted to get this review w/ modifications out there :) Bon' Appetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This turned out great...another keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Way too sweet! When you find this unbearable, add cheese of your choice to hide the sugar. I couldn't handle it on the ketchup alone, I never added the brown sugar thank god! I'd go with 1C Ketchup, 1TSP Worcestershire sauce, two 8oz cans tomato paste or make your own preferably. 1 full cereal bowel of onion, at least 5 cloves of garlic (fresh) and a touch of Jack Daniels (original) BBQ sauce. Seasoning is up to you, but I would add 1tsp of Basile (dried) and use apple cider vinegar in the recipe. If you like candy between your buns, use the recipe as written! Otherwise, try it my way and tweak anyway you like. Either way, if you shy away from sugar as I do, stay away from this unless you make my modifications. Just fair warning! I'll write my own recipe here coming soon, until then, I'd suggest you look for another.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t3t4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States