Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Way too sweet! When you find this unbearable, add cheese of your choice to hide the sugar. I couldn't handle it on the ketchup alone, I never added the brown sugar thank god! I'd go with 1C Ketchup, 1TSP Worcestershire sauce, two 8oz cans tomato paste or make your own preferably. 1 full cereal bowel of onion, at least 5 cloves of garlic (fresh) and a touch of Jack Daniels (original) BBQ sauce. Seasoning is up to you, but I would add 1tsp of Basile (dried) and use apple cider vinegar in the recipe. If you like candy between your buns, use the recipe as written! Otherwise, try it my way and tweak anyway you like. Either way, if you shy away from sugar as I do, stay away from this unless you make my modifications. Just fair warning! I'll write my own recipe here coming soon, until then, I'd suggest you look for another.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t3t4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Good recipe. First time I had made sloppy joe without a mix and this was easy to make. I did think it was a little sweet so ending up adding a little Worcestershire sauce and dashes of allspice, ground mustard, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I doubled this recipe & fed a team of hungry girls with it. It was a HUGE hit!! Amazing flavor. Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My husband thought it was too sweet, but I liked it. Next time I make it, I might try it w/o the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were good. I didnt have quite as much brown sugar as called for and these were pretty sweet when we ate them Im glad I didnt add the whole amount. I would make these again with a few more tweaks. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Superbly amazing. Kinda sweet, so be prepared. I will add carrots and add less ketchup next time. Yes, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Great recipe! I cut the recipe in half and followed it exactly except I left out the celery as I had none and it was excellent. My family loved it and finished it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is exactly the same way I have always made mine. I dont add celery or the minced garlic but do add finely chopped peppers. My soon to be hubby does not like the sweetness, so I compromise by adding a can of tomatoe paste to cut down on the sweetness. I also use a teaspoon of worchestershire sauce (more or less to taste) and a dash or two of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Call

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very yummy. I decreased the celery to 2 stalks and decreased the ketchup by 1/2 c and added a 1/4 c of chili sauce and a 1/4 c of bbq sauce. I also seasoned the meat with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cumin while it was browning. Quite tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is awesome. My changes to this: 2 cans of tomato paste, subtract the ketchup, 1tsp cumin, 1-2 tsp of Sriracha (I used a lot more, personally:) A bit of sweet, a bit of spicy, and enjoyable enough to even make my husband and daughter fight over the leftovers the following night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States