Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this stew and it smelled so heavenly all day!! I added chicken broth and instead of yams, I added Yukon gold potatoes, and the diced tomatoes were Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes. I also added about 1/2 jar of Green Chile Sauce. So delicious!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Great recipe. I added 1 can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made this the other night and it came out great. Made a few changes on the recipe just to spice it up a little bit. Took 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 lbs pork and sauted them with the onions and garlic in a saute pan. Seasoned this mixture with fresh ground black and cayanne pepper. Once the pork and chicken were lightly browned I deglaced the pan with white wine and reduced by 1/2. Added this mixture to the slow cooker with the remainder of the ingredients plus 1 14oz can of chicken stock and another sprinkle of cayanne on top. Turned out great and added an extra layer to the flavors of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchenista Jane
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
The combination of seasonings in this recipe create the perfect heat in a wonderful chili/stew. The Yams give it a hint of sweet for the sweet/savory flavors. I did add a can of chicken broth to make it soupier, and used fire-roasted tomatoes. Didn't change a thing on the amounts of seasonings. It's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I just want to throw this idea out to everyone, fresh roast your cumin as whole cumin seed in a dry pan then grind to use, (I have a coffee mill reserved just for my spices). The enhanced flavor is worth the extra 5 minutes. Roasting spices makes even more of a difference than if you roast your peppers before using and everyone knows how much better a roasted pepper is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
this is really really good. here's some changes/subs that i used: added 2 cans of fire-roasted tomatoes instead of 1; threw in 1/2c jim beam; about 1/4c open pit; 1tsp chipotle tabasco; butternut squash cubes instead of sweet potatoes; threw in a bunch of beet greens that were going to go to waste. tastes awesome. this recipe is very amenable to wacky switch-ups based on what you've got on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. A great winter stew/soup. I really wish people would criticize the actual recipe. This didn't claim to be a "New Mexican" chili, and to give it one star based on that just seems wrong. I don't even want to discuss Dogg's review. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great recipe, Bonney Lake, Wa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I don't eat pork so I did a combo of chicken & turkey breast. Came out good but I would shorten the cooking time & add a bit more spice to the mix, I did add the can of chicken broth that was recommended in an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Was a bit skeptical, but this turned out great! Used about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth as suggested by others and used leftover grilled pork tenderloin. I also added a red bell pepper. My veggie hating husband and my three year old even approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States