Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was just average. The concept looked great, loved the idea of Yams and corn. My husband doesn't want to eat it for leftovers. I wish it were good but I have to give it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe and added a con of seasoned black eye peas drained. It is our new New Years meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did tweak it a little used Tomatoes with Jalapenos about 1.5 tablespoons of Melinda's Habanero sauce also used 1/2 of a small Africa yam threw in some Goat meat also since I do not have a slow cooker I just put in on the stove top on low in a 4 qt pot for 12 hours. If you use Goat meat do not forget to remove the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made this several times and we love it! I happened to have hot frozen green chile from Costco and I probably used a little more than called for in the recipe. I used a whole onion and 3 sweet potatoes, so added a little of my homemade veggie stock. My house smells sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Duffin Larson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Yum! I used one can of hot peppers and one of mild. It was a great balance of flavor and heat, as well as the sweetness added by the yams and corn. I might try hominy instead of corn in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe! The hardest part was dicing up the pork roast which would have been easy if my knife had been sharper. I would add more hot sauce or a hotter pepper for some extra flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I don't eat pork so I did a combo of chicken & turkey breast. Came out good but I would shorten the cooking time & add a bit more spice to the mix, I did add the can of chicken broth that was recommended in an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe as is, but I cooked it with a big handful of chopped cilantro. In my opinion, adding a can of broth would make this soupier than necessary. I served this over rice and it had a nice amount of liquid to wet the rice a bit. I made a traditional Spanish rice. I also put a bit of fresh cilantro and chopped green onions on top when I served it. Vey excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I recently made this stew. My daughter purchased a pork shoulder roast so I had to work with that cut. After a bit of trimming, I had pretty pieces of meat. I took the advice of several other reviewers and browned the meat and onions. I also added chicken broth. I added 1/2 of the yams because I was fearful that they would cook faster than the meat. They did. So I added the remaining yams after 4 hours. The meat cooked to incredible tenderness. The stew was delicious. We can't wait to make it again. This is a great recipe. Thanks Linz. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Belz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So easy and tasted excellent! I followed another reviewer by adding more liquid (1.5 cups of water) to make it more soup like. Will be sharing this recipe with loved ones~thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States