Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. A great winter stew/soup. I really wish people would criticize the actual recipe. This didn't claim to be a "New Mexican" chili, and to give it one star based on that just seems wrong. I don't even want to discuss Dogg's review. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I just want to throw this idea out to everyone, fresh roast your cumin as whole cumin seed in a dry pan then grind to use, (I have a coffee mill reserved just for my spices). The enhanced flavor is worth the extra 5 minutes. Roasting spices makes even more of a difference than if you roast your peppers before using and everyone knows how much better a roasted pepper is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Has anyone tried this WITHOUT the pork? I'm vegetarian and can't help but wonder how much shorter the cooking time would be...any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchenista Jane
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
The combination of seasonings in this recipe create the perfect heat in a wonderful chili/stew. The Yams give it a hint of sweet for the sweet/savory flavors. I did add a can of chicken broth to make it soupier, and used fire-roasted tomatoes. Didn't change a thing on the amounts of seasonings. It's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made this the other night and it came out great. Made a few changes on the recipe just to spice it up a little bit. Took 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 lbs pork and sauted them with the onions and garlic in a saute pan. Seasoned this mixture with fresh ground black and cayanne pepper. Once the pork and chicken were lightly browned I deglaced the pan with white wine and reduced by 1/2. Added this mixture to the slow cooker with the remainder of the ingredients plus 1 14oz can of chicken stock and another sprinkle of cayanne on top. Turned out great and added an extra layer to the flavors of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this stew and it smelled so heavenly all day!! I added chicken broth and instead of yams, I added Yukon gold potatoes, and the diced tomatoes were Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes. I also added about 1/2 jar of Green Chile Sauce. So delicious!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Great recipe. I added 1 can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great recipe, Bonney Lake, Wa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States