Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I have made this several times now and I can say with all honesty this is the most southern meal you can get. My family loves this, and I have to admit I can hardly wait for this to get done, I could eat this for every meal! I use klondike butter new potatoes and leave them whole, they are very savory and do melt like butter in your mouth, also I use chicken broth instead of water and chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This tasted just like my Mom's recipe! I put everything together in the crock pot and let it cook for 8 hrs on low instead of waiting to add the potatoes. The beans were cooked to death but I think that's the way the dish is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captainbiscuitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and the beans were very tasty. My nine year old daughter can't stop telling me how good they were. Although I enjoyed the flavor imparted by the ham hocks, I think next time I will try a different cut of meat due to the high saltiness and fat content of the final dish. I am from the south though, and I wanted my kids to experience some true southern cooking! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Wonderful. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Kate loves food!*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was so good and so easy! I used russet potatoes and a leftover very meaty hambone. I threw everything in together. Hambone first, then potatoes, then green beans, then liquid ingredients with a splash of cider vinegar and crushed red pepper. On top I added 2 ears of corn on the cob cut into thirds. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Next time I will add bacon grease as suggested by another reviewer. These would be excellent with buttermilk biscuits and honey or homemade bread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I use beer and chicken broth 1/2 & 1/2 I'll also add canned whole tomatoes, my dad called them hillbilly beans. We also add double smoked bacon chunks because the ham hocks are sometimes overly fatty. I prefer red onions, my wife likes the Spanish. My teenager don't care, it's FOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Maltba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The beans were very bland and still had to much of a bite to them. The potatoes cooked and were done prior to the beans. I even pulled the potatoes out and tried to finish the beans on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I bring this to work for potlucks. I use chicken broth instead of water and the granules. I have also used canned green beans with great results. I throw everything in together, including potatoes (red potatoes) and let it go. It's a great taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! 1) It was VERY tasty. The only thing different I added was a little olive oil and some fresh [crushed] garlic (I skipped the onion powder since I already added real onions). 2) I used fresh beans so you could tell the difference (in freshness). 3) I also added in MORE meat (Pork, shoulder) which made it very much more meaty (Good). 4) I also added more "Pork" flavoring (called "Goya" pork flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hated this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States