Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy! We were pleasantly surprised by how good this was! Didn't have ham hocks, so we used about 2 cups of chopped ham steaks instead. Also, doubled up on the chicken bouillon. We let it cook on low for nearly 10 hours & it was DELICIOUS!! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! Will definitely make this again. I did a little subsitution. I used a red onion (in place of a white/yellow onion), smoked sausage (in place of ham) and chicken broth (in place of water). I put everything in the cockpot at one time and cooked on low for 8-10 hrs. It was a hit!!!! I took it to a church potluck and recieved many, many compliments. It is an entire meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Excellent flavor. I may also try these on the stovetop when I'm in a hurry and want them more quickly. For better time approximation, it took at least 2 hrs. for the mixture to reach the simmering point (Step 2), and I found that the potatoes needed longer than 45 minutes to become tender (Step 3) (I cooked them for 1 1/2 hrs.)However, my Crockpot didn't have a "medium" setting, it only has "high" and "low", so this might have made the diference. The green beans were still a bit firm/crispy - don't expect them to be soft like canned green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Fabulous! I didn't have time to use the slow cooker so I put them on the stove and cooked them for 25 minutes and then added the potatoes for another 35 minutes. The only other change I made was I added red onion as I had some left over from a salad I made. These are the best green beans I have ever tasted. Even my finicky 11 year old ate them. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My mother made a variation of this when I was growing up, and I've made it for many years myself. However, this is better than she and I made. I could not bring myself to add garlic, and I used ham rather than ham hocks. Put it all in the slow cooker for 12 hours and it was wonderful. It's my new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PBHARRIS
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Growing up in eastern PA my mom used to make this after Easter and Christmas when we had ham. I make mine with canned green beans and potatoes, pepper, and a few capfuls of Apple Cider Vinegar and let it come to a boil on the stove and then simmer for 2-3 hours. The Apple Cider Vinegar gives it a nice little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband used to farm and transport green beans, so he despises green beans --- BUT HE LOVES THIS MEAL!!!! LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is an excellent family friendly recipe...however I used some smoked sausage instead of ham and everyone asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wonderful flavor! I added a few more potatoes than was called for. As I do not have a medium setting, I had to switch to low and cook longer. I actually left my cooker on for 8 hours and it was delicious, however the beans were not crispy. My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was good but my beans were too stringy which ruined it somewhat. Also I used leftover ham which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States