Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy! We were pleasantly surprised by how good this was! Didn't have ham hocks, so we used about 2 cups of chopped ham steaks instead. Also, doubled up on the chicken bouillon. We let it cook on low for nearly 10 hours & it was DELICIOUS!! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! Will definitely make this again. I did a little subsitution. I used a red onion (in place of a white/yellow onion), smoked sausage (in place of ham) and chicken broth (in place of water). I put everything in the cockpot at one time and cooked on low for 8-10 hrs. It was a hit!!!! I took it to a church potluck and recieved many, many compliments. It is an entire meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Excellent flavor. I may also try these on the stovetop when I'm in a hurry and want them more quickly. For better time approximation, it took at least 2 hrs. for the mixture to reach the simmering point (Step 2), and I found that the potatoes needed longer than 45 minutes to become tender (Step 3) (I cooked them for 1 1/2 hrs.)However, my Crockpot didn't have a "medium" setting, it only has "high" and "low", so this might have made the diference. The green beans were still a bit firm/crispy - don't expect them to be soft like canned green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Fabulous! I didn't have time to use the slow cooker so I put them on the stove and cooked them for 25 minutes and then added the potatoes for another 35 minutes. The only other change I made was I added red onion as I had some left over from a salad I made. These are the best green beans I have ever tasted. Even my finicky 11 year old ate them. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My mother made a variation of this when I was growing up, and I've made it for many years myself. However, this is better than she and I made. I could not bring myself to add garlic, and I used ham rather than ham hocks. Put it all in the slow cooker for 12 hours and it was wonderful. It's my new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PBHARRIS
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Growing up in eastern PA my mom used to make this after Easter and Christmas when we had ham. I make mine with canned green beans and potatoes, pepper, and a few capfuls of Apple Cider Vinegar and let it come to a boil on the stove and then simmer for 2-3 hours. The Apple Cider Vinegar gives it a nice little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband used to farm and transport green beans, so he despises green beans --- BUT HE LOVES THIS MEAL!!!! LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is an excellent family friendly recipe...however I used some smoked sausage instead of ham and everyone asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wonderful flavor! I added a few more potatoes than was called for. As I do not have a medium setting, I had to switch to low and cook longer. I actually left my cooker on for 8 hours and it was delicious, however the beans were not crispy. My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was good but my beans were too stringy which ruined it somewhat. Also I used leftover ham which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States