Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Rather average. A simple supper, not exciting. I've had better of each major ingredient. It's okay for todayl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I used Russet potatoes and they took a bit longer to cook, but this recipe was easy and tasty! I also didn't use ham hocks, but rather a boneless chunk of ham, diced up. I'd definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Thompson Reyelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
yummy made this for years except I used chicken broth, very satisfying and a favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe, done in a large frying pan, but we always used bacon, browned first. My favorite family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
How can you rate it if you didn't try to make and to top it off give it one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella Saab
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I made a smaller version of this in my solar oven--also great for slow cooking. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My brother makes a dish very similar to this and adds a can of stewed tomatoes and and then fresh sliced mushrooms and zuchini towards the end. You can thicken the broth a bit with some rue and it is delicious as well. We've always called it Green Bean Stew in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
One of my childhood favorites, but I never thought of doing it in the slow cooker. Fabulous flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
In response to Aunt Meg cooking it for 8-10 hours was way too long. I too used smoked sausage. Need to cut the time in half. Had good flavor but it turned into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delish! I actually cooked these on the stove instead of in the slow cooker, about 2 hrs on medium heat. Turned our very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States