Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Granted this did need a little more attention than most slow cooker recipes but well worth it. I used a ham bone with quite a bit of meat on it. Followed other directions except omitted the onion. very good. Also love the splash of vinegar just before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This has become my favorite way to cook beans. I cook it on the stove, though. Also I substituted stock for the granules, fingerling for new potatoes, and fresh garlic for the powder. Sorry to say, but it puts my mother's to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I actually made this for a small Easter get together. It turned out great and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcarter71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Amazing how such a simple recipe can taste so good. The flavors of these ingredients combine so well that you almost can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was so excited to try this recipe. I love the ingredients and it has great reviews. I found this dish to be extremely bland. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Put everything in the crock pot--green beans, potatoes and added carrots too- and went to church. Cooked it on high and it was perfect when we got home--5 hours and dinner was ready. Highly recommend cooking the sausage or kielbasi first to make it crispier. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good. I made this on the stovetop with boneless low-fat ham, cubed. I kinda over-cooked the green beans, so I removed them from the pan while cooking the potatoes and ham together, then added them back, and simmered awhile. I followed the recipe except for using the boneless ham, and adding a tablespoon of ham base to the water when cooking the green beans (L. B. Jamison's Soup Base Ham Flavored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
The ham was not tender, while the beans were mushy and flavorless. (Or rather, everything just tasted like salty water.) I'd recommend "Easy Slow Cooker Ham" or "Honey Glazed Ham" from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was being preoccupied when I made this and forgot to add the seasonings and bouillon. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
To bump up the flavor a little, I browned the onions along with some mushrooms and fresh garlic before adding them to the crockpot. I had made another green bean recipe from this site where one just put the onions in the pot raw and I thought it would be better to brown them first. Also, instead of water I just put in one can of chicken broth; I figured the slow cooking process would extract enough liquid from the ingredients to cook the beans, and it worked great. As other reviewers suggested, I used chunks of leftover ham instead of ham hocks. This came out quite good and we enjoyed it. Thank you so much for the post, GRAMMYROSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States