Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
To bump up the flavor a little, I browned the onions along with some mushrooms and fresh garlic before adding them to the crockpot. I had made another green bean recipe from this site where one just put the onions in the pot raw and I thought it would be better to brown them first. Also, instead of water I just put in one can of chicken broth; I figured the slow cooking process would extract enough liquid from the ingredients to cook the beans, and it worked great. As other reviewers suggested, I used chunks of leftover ham instead of ham hocks. This came out quite good and we enjoyed it. Thank you so much for the post, GRAMMYROSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I can't believe how good this was. I was searching for a new way to help use up my leftover Easter ham. This was definitely the way to do so! I didn't have time to use a slow cooker so I just did it on my stove top in a dutch oven. It worked well. I also used left over ham instead of the ham hocks but other than that I kept everything else the same. It was flavorful, filling and my kids and husband loved it! I even enjoyed the left overs for a few days afterwards! Thanks for the recipe Grammyrose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was so good and tasty I will make this again. I did change one thing instead of using ham hocks I used ham shanks because it has more meat on the bone then the ham hocks do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
this recipie is a keeper...we loved the flavor of the broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This has potential. I was not overly pleased with the first try, but I will try again. This is the first time I've ever used Hamhocks and did not like the experience. Everything else worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We had this today and OMG, it is so delish. I used ham steak and made cornbread and beer bread to go with it. DH and DS want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Just have rediscovered my crock pot and I thought this recipe was something different and something I could put together quickly. Threw everything in at one time, as another reviewer suggested, and cooked on low for 4-5 hours. Two things I did differently: I used one packet of Goya Ham Concentrate sprinkled over the green beans rather than the chicken bouillon. And instead of the ham hocks I used a large Boar's Head ham steak, chopped. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martinimeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I was looking forward to making this due to all the positive comments. I thought it was okay, and so did my husband. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very good and so simple. Thanks for sharing the recipe. We always serve with a good sprinkling of cider vinegar over, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States