Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Amazing how such a simple recipe can taste so good. The flavors of these ingredients combine so well that you almost can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I was so excited to try this recipe. I love the ingredients and it has great reviews. I found this dish to be extremely bland. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Put everything in the crock pot--green beans, potatoes and added carrots too- and went to church. Cooked it on high and it was perfect when we got home--5 hours and dinner was ready. Highly recommend cooking the sausage or kielbasi first to make it crispier. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good. I made this on the stovetop with boneless low-fat ham, cubed. I kinda over-cooked the green beans, so I removed them from the pan while cooking the potatoes and ham together, then added them back, and simmered awhile. I followed the recipe except for using the boneless ham, and adding a tablespoon of ham base to the water when cooking the green beans (L. B. Jamison's Soup Base Ham Flavored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
The ham was not tender, while the beans were mushy and flavorless. (Or rather, everything just tasted like salty water.) I'd recommend "Easy Slow Cooker Ham" or "Honey Glazed Ham" from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was being preoccupied when I made this and forgot to add the seasonings and bouillon. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
To bump up the flavor a little, I browned the onions along with some mushrooms and fresh garlic before adding them to the crockpot. I had made another green bean recipe from this site where one just put the onions in the pot raw and I thought it would be better to brown them first. Also, instead of water I just put in one can of chicken broth; I figured the slow cooking process would extract enough liquid from the ingredients to cook the beans, and it worked great. As other reviewers suggested, I used chunks of leftover ham instead of ham hocks. This came out quite good and we enjoyed it. Thank you so much for the post, GRAMMYROSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I can't believe how good this was. I was searching for a new way to help use up my leftover Easter ham. This was definitely the way to do so! I didn't have time to use a slow cooker so I just did it on my stove top in a dutch oven. It worked well. I also used left over ham instead of the ham hocks but other than that I kept everything else the same. It was flavorful, filling and my kids and husband loved it! I even enjoyed the left overs for a few days afterwards! Thanks for the recipe Grammyrose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was so good and tasty I will make this again. I did change one thing instead of using ham hocks I used ham shanks because it has more meat on the bone then the ham hocks do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States