Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I changed this recipe so much that it's entirely different and WOW it's wonderful. This was a great starting point. I'm going to try to get my submitted here. Thanks GrammyRose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Mmm,mmm,mmm ~ You just can't go wrong with this recipe. Followed as directed, only adding some cubed ham at the end. My husband and son were so busy eating that there wasn't much conversation at dinner. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
yummy recipe the way it is, I prefer using shanks instead of hocks and put in everything at once, we all come back for more !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Loved it- used 2 capfuls of apple cider vinegar and doubled all seasonings. I like a stronger flavor. Made it on the stove and used ham steak instead of hocks. Turned out delicious. I think the cider vinegar gives it the perfect kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for many years- my husband loves it! Since it always seems to be even better the next day, I realized it was because the broth becomes a little thicker as the potato starch comes out. So I started to puree a couple of the potatoes (after they're cooked) using an immersion blender (either in a separate pot with a few potatoes and broth, or just stick it in the regular pot for a few seconds). This gives it a nice consistency for a slightly thicker stew. I also substitute homemade chicken broth (or store bought broth) for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe as it is here and I don't think I'll change a thing. Fabulous and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Didn't care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I mostly like to use my crock pot for those hectic work days but because this didn't need to cook for the whole day and seemed to need some attention here and there I made this on the weekend. Very tasty and easy. I think next time I will try this on a work day and try adding the potatoes at the start and see how it turns out. Per other reviews this seems to be working okay. I did add some dijon mustard to the chicken broth mixture. This is a recipe that is easily adapted and can be played with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I love making this recipe in the summer with fresh green beans from a local farmers stand! I add in a sliced Vidalia sweet onion, some fresh garlic cloves, a bay leaf, and some vegetable stock...it is summer comfort food!!! Great served with a crusty dinner roll! Edit - I made this classic recipe again, only I substituted 2 of the ham hocks for Johnsonville Sausage...it was absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States