Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I use beer and chicken broth 1/2 & 1/2 I'll also add canned whole tomatoes, my dad called them hillbilly beans. We also add double smoked bacon chunks because the ham hocks are sometimes overly fatty. I prefer red onions, my wife likes the Spanish. My teenager don't care, it's FOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Maltba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The beans were very bland and still had to much of a bite to them. The potatoes cooked and were done prior to the beans. I even pulled the potatoes out and tried to finish the beans on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I bring this to work for potlucks. I use chicken broth instead of water and the granules. I have also used canned green beans with great results. I throw everything in together, including potatoes (red potatoes) and let it go. It's a great taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! 1) It was VERY tasty. The only thing different I added was a little olive oil and some fresh [crushed] garlic (I skipped the onion powder since I already added real onions). 2) I used fresh beans so you could tell the difference (in freshness). 3) I also added in MORE meat (Pork, shoulder) which made it very much more meaty (Good). 4) I also added more "Pork" flavoring (called "Goya" pork flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hated this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again! I make it on the stove not the slow cooker. A huge hit! EVERYONE loves it. I also have a hard time finding ham hocks, so I use ham shanks. I am also born and raised in Pa. Where this is a Pennsylvania Dutch favorite....I have to admit it's the best I've ever had. Now I tell all of my extended family, I make the best ham and green beans thanks to this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Nice dish. Would make a hearty side dish, or even a main course, which is how I had it. Goes good with some cornbread or sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is SO good!! I will never use another recipe again! I made only slight variations but I'm sure the original is fine too. I used a leftover ham bone and meat from a picnic ham. I also put some of the skin/fat from that ham on top of this while it was cooking. Added a tablespoon of white sugar as some recipes call for. Cooked it all at once on low for 8 hours I think. Some might find the beans too mushy when cooking that long but I like mine that way. THANK YOU FOR THIS! Have tried so many and they just were not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Yummy! 6 hours in the crockpot worked for me, the beans and potatoes were done, and not mushy. I thickened up some of the cooking liquid for gravy and served with corn bread. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious! Took longer than it said but was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States