Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Around our area (SE OH) they call this 'hay makers stew'. I've never seen a recipe, but it is always a big hit. Thank-you for writing it down into a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! 1) It was VERY tasty. The only thing different I added was a little olive oil and some fresh [crushed] garlic (I skipped the onion powder since I already added real onions). 2) I used fresh beans so you could tell the difference (in freshness). 3) I also added in MORE meat (Pork, shoulder) which made it very much more meaty (Good). 4) I also added more "Pork" flavoring (called "Goya" pork flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hated this! My husband just left to get takeout after I tried this. Ham hocks are nothing but fat and gristle. This was also a lot of time and trouble for such a bad meal. I will never make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again! I make it on the stove not the slow cooker. A huge hit! EVERYONE loves it. I also have a hard time finding ham hocks, so I use ham shanks. I am also born and raised in Pa. Where this is a Pennsylvania Dutch favorite....I have to admit it's the best I've ever had. Now I tell all of my extended family, I make the best ham and green beans thanks to this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Nice dish. Would make a hearty side dish, or even a main course, which is how I had it. Goes good with some cornbread or sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is SO good!! I will never use another recipe again! I made only slight variations but I'm sure the original is fine too. I used a leftover ham bone and meat from a picnic ham. I also put some of the skin/fat from that ham on top of this while it was cooking. Added a tablespoon of white sugar as some recipes call for. Cooked it all at once on low for 8 hours I think. Some might find the beans too mushy when cooking that long but I like mine that way. THANK YOU FOR THIS! Have tried so many and they just were not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Yummy! 6 hours in the crockpot worked for me, the beans and potatoes were done, and not mushy. I thickened up some of the cooking liquid for gravy and served with corn bread. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious! Took longer than it said but was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Not a fan at all. Far too many green beans compared to other ingredients, and the ham hocks don't add the flavor of regular ham, not to mention the added hassle of shredding it. I also found it very bland compared to the old family recipes I was used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used a smoked ham shank instead of hocks, because they have less fat. Added additional lean ham. Used regular garlic cloves, and no salt of any type. Had zucchini and carrot that needed to be used up, so I threw them in as well. Added a couple tablespoons of chia seeds, as that is my new thing. Did this over the stove, because I ran out of time. Delicious. Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States