Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I have made this several times now and I can say with all honesty this is the most southern meal you can get. My family loves this, and I have to admit I can hardly wait for this to get done, I could eat this for every meal! I use klondike butter new potatoes and leave them whole, they are very savory and do melt like butter in your mouth, also I use chicken broth instead of water and chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This tasted just like my Mom's recipe! I put everything together in the crock pot and let it cook for 8 hrs on low instead of waiting to add the potatoes. The beans were cooked to death but I think that's the way the dish is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captainbiscuitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and the beans were very tasty. My nine year old daughter can't stop telling me how good they were. Although I enjoyed the flavor imparted by the ham hocks, I think next time I will try a different cut of meat due to the high saltiness and fat content of the final dish. I am from the south though, and I wanted my kids to experience some true southern cooking! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Wonderful. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Kate loves food!*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was so good and so easy! I used russet potatoes and a leftover very meaty hambone. I threw everything in together. Hambone first, then potatoes, then green beans, then liquid ingredients with a splash of cider vinegar and crushed red pepper. On top I added 2 ears of corn on the cob cut into thirds. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Next time I will add bacon grease as suggested by another reviewer. These would be excellent with buttermilk biscuits and honey or homemade bread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I use beer and chicken broth 1/2 & 1/2 I'll also add canned whole tomatoes, my dad called them hillbilly beans. We also add double smoked bacon chunks because the ham hocks are sometimes overly fatty. I prefer red onions, my wife likes the Spanish. My teenager don't care, it's FOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Maltba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The beans were very bland and still had to much of a bite to them. The potatoes cooked and were done prior to the beans. I even pulled the potatoes out and tried to finish the beans on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I bring this to work for potlucks. I use chicken broth instead of water and the granules. I have also used canned green beans with great results. I throw everything in together, including potatoes (red potatoes) and let it go. It's a great taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! 1) It was VERY tasty. The only thing different I added was a little olive oil and some fresh [crushed] garlic (I skipped the onion powder since I already added real onions). 2) I used fresh beans so you could tell the difference (in freshness). 3) I also added in MORE meat (Pork, shoulder) which made it very much more meaty (Good). 4) I also added more "Pork" flavoring (called "Goya" pork flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hated this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States