Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again! I make it on the stove not the slow cooker. A huge hit! EVERYONE loves it. I also have a hard time finding ham hocks, so I use ham shanks. I am also born and raised in Pa. Where this is a Pennsylvania Dutch favorite....I have to admit it's the best I've ever had. Now I tell all of my extended family, I make the best ham and green beans thanks to this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Nice dish. Would make a hearty side dish, or even a main course, which is how I had it. Goes good with some cornbread or sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is SO good!! I will never use another recipe again! I made only slight variations but I'm sure the original is fine too. I used a leftover ham bone and meat from a picnic ham. I also put some of the skin/fat from that ham on top of this while it was cooking. Added a tablespoon of white sugar as some recipes call for. Cooked it all at once on low for 8 hours I think. Some might find the beans too mushy when cooking that long but I like mine that way. THANK YOU FOR THIS! Have tried so many and they just were not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Yummy! 6 hours in the crockpot worked for me, the beans and potatoes were done, and not mushy. I thickened up some of the cooking liquid for gravy and served with corn bread. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious! Took longer than it said but was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Not a fan at all. Far too many green beans compared to other ingredients, and the ham hocks don't add the flavor of regular ham, not to mention the added hassle of shredding it. I also found it very bland compared to the old family recipes I was used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used a smoked ham shank instead of hocks, because they have less fat. Added additional lean ham. Used regular garlic cloves, and no salt of any type. Had zucchini and carrot that needed to be used up, so I threw them in as well. Added a couple tablespoons of chia seeds, as that is my new thing. Did this over the stove, because I ran out of time. Delicious. Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Yummy, this was so simple and yet so delicious. My store does not carry ham hocks, so I just used some ham that I had. I just cubed it and threw it in the crockpot. Four hours later, when we got home, we had a delicious dinner waiting for us. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I followed this fairly closely, though the fresh green beans I'd based this around spoiled, so I had to call an audible and use frozen. I don't even know what a "ham hock" is, so I used cubed smoked ham and threw in a ham shank to up the flavor. I used HEAPING tsps of all seasonings, and still found it to be bait bland for my tastes. I'm kind of a crock pot purist; if I'm using the crock pot, I don't want to do any other work, so I tossed everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for 8-10 hours. Beans were a bit mushy, but that's because I'd had to use frozen. Potatoes were perfect. If I made this again, I'd use garlic SALT instead of garlic powder and further increase the other seasonings. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I searched and searched and could not find ham hocks where we live now. Frustrated! So, I googled pork cuts and settled on a dif leg cut. I know this is why mine was not as good and I couldn't give it a 5 star without knowing. However, the beans and potatoes were fantastic with the broth. It looked like it was going to be really bland, and I was surprised by how much flavor it did have. Wish I could have used ham hocks...would have probably been a 5 for sure!! I would make this again for a crowd because this made WAY too much for the three of us I planned on eating it...and then my daughter wouldn't even try it. I did use the leftover broth in a bean soup I made a few days later as another review mentioned you could do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States