Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Yummy, this was so simple and yet so delicious. My store does not carry ham hocks, so I just used some ham that I had. I just cubed it and threw it in the crockpot. Four hours later, when we got home, we had a delicious dinner waiting for us. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I followed this fairly closely, though the fresh green beans I'd based this around spoiled, so I had to call an audible and use frozen. I don't even know what a "ham hock" is, so I used cubed smoked ham and threw in a ham shank to up the flavor. I used HEAPING tsps of all seasonings, and still found it to be bait bland for my tastes. I'm kind of a crock pot purist; if I'm using the crock pot, I don't want to do any other work, so I tossed everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for 8-10 hours. Beans were a bit mushy, but that's because I'd had to use frozen. Potatoes were perfect. If I made this again, I'd use garlic SALT instead of garlic powder and further increase the other seasonings. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I searched and searched and could not find ham hocks where we live now. Frustrated! So, I googled pork cuts and settled on a dif leg cut. I know this is why mine was not as good and I couldn't give it a 5 star without knowing. However, the beans and potatoes were fantastic with the broth. It looked like it was going to be really bland, and I was surprised by how much flavor it did have. Wish I could have used ham hocks...would have probably been a 5 for sure!! I would make this again for a crowd because this made WAY too much for the three of us I planned on eating it...and then my daughter wouldn't even try it. I did use the leftover broth in a bean soup I made a few days later as another review mentioned you could do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Boiled a VERY LARGE ham hock for about three hours before going to bed. Refrigerated it until the next evening when I skimmed off the fat and removed the bones. Put the potatoes in, added some onion and garlic powder. Green beans were over $3 a pound so just used frozen. Added these when the potatoes were almost cooked. Added a couple tablespoons of vinegar, and a tablespoon of brown sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers. I honestly did not expect my son or husband to like this. They LOVED it! Both dubbed this recipe as a definite keeper. And by refrigerating it overnight, there was very little fat in the dish, but all the flavor. Good Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this. I used frozen green beans and added some bacon. All my family and friend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is my go to recipe for green beans and ham. I use 1 ham hock and a cup or two of diced ham. And use a little more of the seasonings than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Meh. Nothing special about this one. My husband, who loves these things asked me not to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is a pennsylvania dutch recipe. Cooking it as we speak without a crockpot. I get a large pot, put a honey baked ham bone in with water. Let it come to a boil, then add 1 large sliced onion after reducing the heat to low. I let it simmer for two hours, remove the meat from the bone and add three lbs. of beans whole (ends snipped) with some pepper (one hour). At the end I cook enough potato's seperately for the amount we will eat. No after dinner milky juice left in the pot that way. Leftovers potato's cooked seperatly again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was loved by everyone who tasted it....Easy, breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This dish was good, but not as good as I had hoped and expected. It was easy to prepare, especially since I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and just threw it all into the crock pot. But having done that, I can see now why it might turn out better if done in stages. In the time it took to cook the beans to some degree of tenderness (about 6 hours at a medium temperature), my potatoes over-cooked to the point that they were falling apart. I used some leftover ham, and it, too, over-cooked, becoming slightly rubbery and turning an unappetizing shade of grey. Also, I thought the recipe needed 2 or 3 times the amount of seasoning recommended. Will I make this again? Maybe...but if I do I'll make it on the stove where I can have more control over what cooks for how long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States