Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
i agree with one review that you must add peppercorns, caraway seed and bay leaf to give it that bavarian flare. browning the meat is very important for added flavour and moistness. this is an easy recipe and is especially good on those cold winter nights. a keeper for my family who, i might add are german on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wonderful smell and taste!! Those that didn't use the Caraway or Saurerkraut.....disregard their ratings and comments.....those 2 indredients are what gives this recipe all the flavor and pizazz!!!! Though I think highly of a plain old tender pork roast with a little salt.....this recipe is all about the Sauerkraut and caraway (a flavor which I have only recently acquired a taste for). I followed recipe exactly, with only a few minor differences (not changes).....my roast had a bone in it, I used unpeeled baby white potatoes, and my large can of Sauerkraut was only 28 oz. I am surprised that so many remarked about dryness.....my roast was so tender and moist, it litterally fell apart with the gentle touch of one fork and with a bit more liquid could have been a soup!! I ended up shredding it completely and mixing it in with the sauerkraut and potatoes, so the dish became ONE! I cooked for 10 hours in the crock (unfortunately, I started it too late in the day, so it didn't finish until 9pm last night, but I picked and picked and tasted and retasted until I finally had to put it away.....can't wait to have it for dinner tonight! Really good flavor and aroma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I opted to leave the potatoes out and just do mashed taters on the side. I also doubled the amount of meat and sauerkraut. Even though I browned the pork on all sides in a skillet before placing it in the crock pot, it still was really dry. There was plenty of liquid in the pot from the kraut. I also had to chop my whole caraway seeds with a sharp knife (the whole seeds get into my hubby's teeth). It works, but be careful of flying bits of caraway seed! I will make this recipe again because even though my meat came out dry it is worth another shot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My dad made this when I was growing up, and continues to make this today. We eat ours with a side of cottage cheese and tomatoes. Serve with a Pepsi to drink and you are eating good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
kraut/potatoes had a very good flavor...smelled delish all day in the crock, however the pork was a little dry and lacking. I will experiment per other reviews next time. Not counting this one out just yet, but i found that the pork does need a little sumtin, sumtin to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I read most of the reviews and there were complaints of the roast being dry after cooking. I added a can of chicken broth, and it was very moist. I also added a little onion and that gave it some more flavor. My bf love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent! We didn't have any caraway seeds, but were still pleased with results. Even our picky eaters enjoyed it! It was good with leftover barbecue sauce from last night's dinner. It was very moist and all enjoyed the flavor. We cooked it on low for 8 hours. We used packaged sauerkraut from the deli, juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is ok-BUT- I always add a large onion and brown sugar, about a 1/4 cup. Don't forget to brown the meat on all sides, adds flavor. Salt and pepper while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The roast turned out incredibly tender. It wasn't very pretty, though. The sauerkraut was okay, but the potatoes were horrible. We threw them out. They were a tad over done and the flavor from the sauerkraut in/on them was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
If you want real Bavarian flavor, you have to brown the seasoned roast/pork ribs on all sides before adding to the Sauerkraut. It locks in the juices and flavor.You can use the broiler to do this. Add the drippings also to the Kraut. No garlic please !!!. You can grate an apple and add it to sweeten the Sauerkraut. Bayleafs (1 or 2) are a must and so are the pepper corns and Karaway seeds. If the Sauerkraut is to vinegary, rinse it until you have the desired flavor or just simply add an extra can of water. Remember, the longer you cook it, the better the taste. Every one loves my Sauerkraut...Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States