Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
4 stars cooked for 8 hours pork was 180 but not was not tender. tough and rubberry. cut roast in 4 smaller pcs and returned to crock pot to cook for another 2 hours. i tasted the pork and it was excellant. dont know why was tought and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this last night. It was very good. I sliced the potatoes into thin slices, and did not use garlic. I did season the pork roast w/ garlic pepper/ salt/ and thyme. I used Bavarian Kraut and left out the caraway seeds as they are already in the kraut. Put it on at about 9AM and we ate at 5:30. Pork was amazingly tender as were the potatoes. Very good!! Next time I will add some baby carrots also. Easy and good! Leftovers, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Left the potatoes out but followed the recipe in every other way. It was Wonderful! Meat was juicy and so tender it almost made a knife "optional". Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
loved this dish. My nephew loved it and he was sworn against it! I did modify it by pouring a 1/2 cup of vinegar over while cooking and it was delish! Don't forget to top the kraut with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My mom used to make the pork in a pressure cooker - this is now my preferred method! I like to use boneless country-style pork ribs (goes on sale at Safeway a lot). This is the part I feel passionately about - DO NOT PUT THE KRAUT IN UNTIL CLOSE TO THE END. I hate kraut that's been pulverized to mush. I poured in the brine at the beginning of cooking, putting in the kraut 1hr before the finish just until it warmed. The meat/potatoes do taste better after it's had time to sit with the kraut, but you really don't want to cook it that long together. Things I feel less strongly about: Try fooling with the amount of caraway - I like it more subtle, around 1t. Try a bit of apple cider vinegar to brighten it if you need. Try searing the meat before you put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really good!! Everyone loved it and wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Fabulous comfort food! I didn't have caraway seeds, but I did use Polish kraut which has them in it. I sauteed a large onion in light butter and threw that in also. This was so good I can't wait for it to be cold so I can make it again, the whole family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellejo3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I grew up eating pork ‘n kraut and have cooked it using all kinds of different methods. It's important to know how your crock pot cooks when it comes to cooking meat. This particular recipe calls for an 8 – 10hr cook time. That works great if I’m using my 30+yr old crock pot, but my 2yr old crock pot will have this done in 4 hours because it cooks 10x hotter than my old one. If there is one thing you don’t want to do, that is over cook a pork loin because it gets really, really dry if it’s overcooked. Another option to consider would be to use a pork butt roast. It gets tender and juicy the longer it cooks and isn’t as easy to overcook as a loin roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
We loved this recipe!! Fits all the criteria: easy, nutritious, and super yummy. MY husband and kids ate it 2 nights in a row and didn't complain! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States