Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Cooked this on low for 8 hrs. (minimum time stated)and the pork was dry and overcooked - when I tried to slice it, it shredded into threads and fell apart. The pork was virtually flavorless. I thought about making it again with more seasonings for flavor and reducing the cooking time, but 8 hrs. seemed absolutely perfect for the potatoes - they were not mushy/overcooked so reducing the cooking time might cause undercooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I have been making this the exact same way for years and always comes out great. Point is to make sure that the pork stays in the "juice." I always put my roast in frozen so maybe that makes the extra liquid needed to keep the pork moist. My family loves this. Sometimes we even add potatoes to the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This almost the same receipe my mother used to make when I was growing up. I remember is fondly. Only difference is we didn't have slower cookers in those days. I will make this today,leaving out caraway seeds and browing meat before cooking. Thanks for the receipe. It brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I actually learned to make this when working for a roofing company in South FL at a "tar kettle" cook off. I use 2 bags of kraut and it keeps the pork tender and juicy. As my DH doesn't eat kraut I wrap the pok loin in cheese cloth so it isn't "contaminated" - silly man eats the pork and potatos like there is no tomorrow! I don't add anything other that the pork, potatos and kraut. The juice and pork season each other nicely and don't really require anything else. And 8 hours is about the right time (for my slow cooker anyway). Darn, now I'll have to make this sometime this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was perfect! I subbed red potatoes (with skin) for the white peeled potatoes and am still amazed that such an effortless dish came out so incredibly delicious. The pork was so moist it was falling apart, the potatoes were soft but not mushy, I will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe is OK. Good recipe for a busy day when the slow cooker saves time. Potatoes were done, but still seemed kind of hard. Used country'style pork ribs instead of a roast, that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Was not a hit in our home at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I am rarely disappointed in my Allrecipes recipe but this one was terrible. It had no taste although I salted, peppered, used onion powder and garlic salt. The meat was dry and although the potatoes held their shape, they were very close to inedible. If I were critiqueing this recipe, I would anticipate that the sauerkraut liquid was overwhelming. This recipe is going in the trash can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoutsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It was a nice change from my normal prok roast and sauerkraut. I would make it again next New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States