Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
We loved this recipe!! Fits all the criteria: easy, nutritious, and super yummy. MY husband and kids ate it 2 nights in a row and didn't complain! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was delicious. Will now be my go-to way to fix sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My husband's favorite! Swears that it is real "Polish-German" food. Didn't change a thing, have made several times and it is perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was a nice change. The potatoes picked up all the flavor from the sauerkraut and garlic. I loved it. The meat was super tender. I did not have caraway seeds so maybe next time i'll get some. I was surprised the potatoes did not go mushy at all they stayed nice and firm but were cooked through. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this and really enjoyed it. The only thing I added was a couple of bay leaves. Great flavor--makes great ruben sandwiches with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
i agree with one review that you must add peppercorns, caraway seed and bay leaf to give it that bavarian flare. browning the meat is very important for added flavour and moistness. this is an easy recipe and is especially good on those cold winter nights. a keeper for my family who, i might add are german on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wonderful smell and taste!! Those that didn't use the Caraway or Saurerkraut.....disregard their ratings and comments.....those 2 indredients are what gives this recipe all the flavor and pizazz!!!! Though I think highly of a plain old tender pork roast with a little salt.....this recipe is all about the Sauerkraut and caraway (a flavor which I have only recently acquired a taste for). I followed recipe exactly, with only a few minor differences (not changes).....my roast had a bone in it, I used unpeeled baby white potatoes, and my large can of Sauerkraut was only 28 oz. I am surprised that so many remarked about dryness.....my roast was so tender and moist, it litterally fell apart with the gentle touch of one fork and with a bit more liquid could have been a soup!! I ended up shredding it completely and mixing it in with the sauerkraut and potatoes, so the dish became ONE! I cooked for 10 hours in the crock (unfortunately, I started it too late in the day, so it didn't finish until 9pm last night, but I picked and picked and tasted and retasted until I finally had to put it away.....can't wait to have it for dinner tonight! Really good flavor and aroma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I opted to leave the potatoes out and just do mashed taters on the side. I also doubled the amount of meat and sauerkraut. Even though I browned the pork on all sides in a skillet before placing it in the crock pot, it still was really dry. There was plenty of liquid in the pot from the kraut. I also had to chop my whole caraway seeds with a sharp knife (the whole seeds get into my hubby's teeth). It works, but be careful of flying bits of caraway seed! I will make this recipe again because even though my meat came out dry it is worth another shot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My dad made this when I was growing up, and continues to make this today. We eat ours with a side of cottage cheese and tomatoes. Serve with a Pepsi to drink and you are eating good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States