Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I have searched every sauerkraut receipe you have and couldn't believe that there were none that added tomatos! I was brought up on sauerkraut, my grandmother was slavic, but was married to a German and she used pork shoulder, browned before cooking, plenty of onions sliced, sauerkraut and canned tomatos. The tomatos sweeten the sauerkraut without having to add sugar. Mom sometimes used caraway seeds too and then made fluffy dumplings for the first night. After dinner, she would boil small potatoes in their skin, peel them and stick them down in the liquid and sauerkraut along with some hot dogs. This would be refrigerated for a day or two, and then warmed up for a second, but slightly different meal. Absolutely divine. I make this for about 40 people so use pork loin only because it slices more uniformly and I don't have to worry about bones. Also I cook it on top the stove as I will be making so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cobb Island, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I've made this several times, it's always a big hit. Even my kids like it since the slow cooker tends to take a bit of the edge off the sauerkraut! Tried it tonight with polish sausage instead of pork, it's also excellent that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So tender and tasty. After reading the reviews, I dry rubbed it with herbs and seared the roast, poured sauerkraut over it, then cooked it in my roaster at 325 for 1 1/2hrs. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Absolutely THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Longo Weimer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I love this recipe. I also make this with smoked sausage. I don't care for the caraway seeds but love the flavor they add to the dish. I put the caraway seeds in a cheese cloth and bury it. I also add white vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Found I had all of these ingredients but the pork roast. Purchased a fresh, non-frozen, pork loin roast, then followed the recipe steps wehn I got home on a Friday night. It cooked from about 8:00 PM, and I checked it at 6:00 AM. Everything was tender, tasty, and done. Yes, I ate some for breakfast. The only thing I did was to add about 1 cup of water as the cooker juices were a bit sparse. In reading the other posts, I do think adding onions and even apples would be some alternative flavors I will try in the future. I would also add even more saurkraut. In summary, this has got to be the easiest and moistest recipe I have ever tried for pork. I cannot wait for those leftover pork sandwiches! Yum! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was great. Made it twice. The first time my boyfriend loved it - I thought it needed a little tweaking. Added onion (like others suggested) as well as more garlic. Left out the caraway seeds the first time because I didn't have them. Also used red potatoes. Second time, I added more onion, the caraway seeds, as well as I used Yellow Potatoes. I also reserved a little of the sauerkraut and mixed it in at the very end for the tangy flavor. My boyfriend requests this all of the time. The pork falls apart and is really juicy. It makes great leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My boyfriend and I did not like this. I followed the recipe as directed, there was hardly any flavor in this dish. It tastes like it's missing something. Highly doubt I will ever make this again. If I do, I would not add all the sauerkraut in the beginning. I would probably do half the sauerkraut, all the juice, and add the rest of the sauerkraut a few minutes before serving to heat it up. The one thing we did like was the potatoes. They tasted really well being cooked in the sauerkraut juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! My husband and I "pigged" out. I used red potatoes since it was what I had and it turned out wonderfully. No problem with being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
4 stars cooked for 8 hours pork was 180 but not was not tender. tough and rubberry. cut roast in 4 smaller pcs and returned to crock pot to cook for another 2 hours. i tasted the pork and it was excellant. dont know why was tought and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States