Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Good and easy. My review can't be very accurate because I did not follow the recipe well. My boyfriend would have liked the taste of the sauerkraut but I worried it would be too much for my parents, so I only used 28 oz jar. Because there were 6 people going to eat I used 10 small potatos (red and yellow, were done perfect around the 8 hour mark) So then I worried that the pork was going to dry out because it did not look like enough liquid. I added water at first would would have been okay I think if I just used more sayerkraut but it was still not enough for me so I put some chicken broth in it. I think this was my big mistake. The pork came out tnder and would have been great if it didn't taste like chicken. Maybe some veg broth or like the recipe says more sauerkraut would have been great. I will try this again, but not for a while. Also, the seeds are a must, and I suggest more seasoning becuase it was a bit bland besides tasting like chicken. 4 stars because it can be as easy as you want it to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've never been able to cook a kraut casserole to my liking, until now. I made this with a pork butt roast, seasoned w/ salt, pepper, MSG, garlic & onion powers. I seasoned the kraut with 1 t. caraway seeds, 1 sliced onion, 2 bay leaves & a large pinch of celery seeds. The result was very moist & flavorful, I loved it. Next time I will double the kraut because it was my favorite part. I like this with mashed potatoes. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cooked this on low for 8 hrs. (minimum time stated)and the pork was dry and overcooked - when I tried to slice it, it fell apart. We tried to eat it but it all went in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really really tasty...omitted the caraway seeds and used Honey Gold Potatoes. First time having sauerkraut and it was really good with the pork and potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I've been making this for years because it's so easy and so good! My husband prefers using sauerkraut that comes in a jar because the flavor just seems to be better. Depending on how big your slow cooker is...and the amount of pork you're cooking...you can use up to two jars. (Use the large jars that hold the same amount of sauerkraut that the large cans do). If you want a milder sauerkraut flavor, however, cut your sauerkraut liquid in half and add water for that other half, instead. Or just use the sauerkraut and water...no sauerkraut liquid at all. Believe me, the flavor will still be there. Make sure your pork is almost completely covered by the liquid you've put in. This way it will be moist and just fall apart when it's done! I love the carraway seeds but if you don't have any, don't worry...salt and pepper works just fine! (Add an onion or a bit of garlic or even Pickling Spice if you're in the mood for them but they're not really necessary). You can also add a level teaspoon or two of regular sugar (or a half-packet to one packet of Sweet N Low) if you find the liquid to be a bit too tart or bitter for your tastebuds. Then add your potatoes when the pork seems to be about half done. I like to wait until the meat is falling off the bone before telling my husband to "come and get it!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
i made this lastnight for the house and i could not stop i ate 5 plates of this stuff. it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I have searched every sauerkraut receipe you have and couldn't believe that there were none that added tomatos! I was brought up on sauerkraut, my grandmother was slavic, but was married to a German and she used pork shoulder, browned before cooking, plenty of onions sliced, sauerkraut and canned tomatos. The tomatos sweeten the sauerkraut without having to add sugar. Mom sometimes used caraway seeds too and then made fluffy dumplings for the first night. After dinner, she would boil small potatoes in their skin, peel them and stick them down in the liquid and sauerkraut along with some hot dogs. This would be refrigerated for a day or two, and then warmed up for a second, but slightly different meal. Absolutely divine. I make this for about 40 people so use pork loin only because it slices more uniformly and I don't have to worry about bones. Also I cook it on top the stove as I will be making so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cobb Island, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I've made this several times, it's always a big hit. Even my kids like it since the slow cooker tends to take a bit of the edge off the sauerkraut! Tried it tonight with polish sausage instead of pork, it's also excellent that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So tender and tasty. After reading the reviews, I dry rubbed it with herbs and seared the roast, poured sauerkraut over it, then cooked it in my roaster at 325 for 1 1/2hrs. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States