Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My families New Year's traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Great way to use inexpensive bone in loin end or rib end roasts, let the meat simmer with the kraut for about 2 hrs. add washed unpeeled potatoes and a hand full of Barley for the last (3rd) hour of cooking, I don't use the caraway(I like it in the thick crusty Jewish or German rye bread I serve with this)or the Garlic. Plenty of Black pepper. Un drained Kraut and water to cover. The meat will fall from the bones and if you let it sit a while it will absorb the cooking liquid and never be dry. My Grandfather loved this, called it"Heaven in a bowl" I had this for dinner today,,, Grampa was right !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
The meat was soooo tender, but the sauerkraut juice made all the ingredients taste the same. And no salt & pepper? BLAND for sure. Love the convenience, but result less than great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Moist! Cover with sauerkraut while cooking. Added 1 c. chicken broth. Before serve, put on platter, tent with foil for 15 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
It sounded so good and easy that I did not read the reviews. I followed the recipe and while it was moist, it was flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very nice! I skipped the garlic and the potatoes. Served it with mashed potatoes instead. Added diced onion, bay leaves, carrots and a diced apple and 1/4c apple cider vinegar. Tasted like my German grandmother's recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
made this exactly as written.....ewwwww....so sorry. DH couldn't even eat it and he loves sauerkraut. Perhaps if I had just placed the sauerkraut in at the very last hour might have been more palate pleasing or not. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this last weekend and it was a great recipe. I think it's perfect for each of us to tweak to our own tastes. This recipe gave me the base to create my own flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I woke up on New Years Day and my husband surprised me by having this in the crockpot after finding it online. He left out the caraway seeds but everything else was just as the recipe called for. It was absolutely delicious and he's not usually a cook. It is company worthy, and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but it's pretty much the same one my mom made for yrs. if your roast is dry then you didn't have enough liquid. And I would add 1/2 the Kraut in at the beginning and other half at the end. I don't think my mom used minced garlic, just garlic salt, caraway seeds etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States