Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Mmmmm, this was very yummy! I added some fresh cloves of garlic. I sliced them and put them in with the potatoes while they were baking. Then I mashed them all together and it was very garlicky, just how we like it. Thanks for the crockpot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I peeled about 3.5 lbs. of russet potatoes, and didn't use quite as much garlic powder as the recipe calls for. I also left out the milk and used 8oz sour cream and about 1 cup of shredded colby cheese (1/2 c butter). These mashed potatoes were the perfect consistency and SOOO creamy and flavorful. My entire family of picky eaters loved them! Reminded us of the "smashed potatoes" at one of our favorite restaurants! Thanks for sharing a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very easy! nice to let the slow cooker take care of things...the just mash it up in the mixer when you're ready! I added some sour cream to give it a little more depth of flavor, but it was still delicious! Will add as a regular! **Update: I continue to follow the recipe exactly. Just a head's up...I always leave the skins on baby red potatoes... it does make them a more grayish color, but they still taste fabulous. Also, since i leave the skin on, i leave them slightly chunky when i mix them in the mixer. Took to a party and they were a hit. It's just nice to not have to worry about watching potatoes while the boil, etc... just do the prep before work, then quick and easy mixing when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Excellent. Much denser than traditional mashed potatoes. I added several crushed whole cloves of fresh garlic which then got mashed into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Super easy and absolutely wonderful! I increase the recipe to use 5 lbs of red potatoes. It is the perfect amount for Thanksgiving with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
So easy and really good. I used olive oil instead of water. These were perfect for Thanksgiving and saved a ton of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Excellent flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This got rave reviews from the whole family, and was a perfect match to our grilled steaks and roasted corn on the cob for Memorial Day. You rarely read such a thing for a suggestion but make sure your black pepper is OLD! We use a fresher pepper than can be found in grocery store spice aisles and 1/4 tsp was jsut WAY too much! Had I been thinking I would have reduced it. But that was MY fault not the recipe's :). As far as changes go I used minced fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. The leftovers (what few there were) were great fried the next morning at breakfast. Thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Marinated
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This sounded yummy, so I gave it a try. I added more garlic than suggested in the recipe (2 tsp. minced garlic instead of powder). I might add sour cream next time too, as other reviewers have done, but I can recommend this recipe with confidence! I used Russet potatoes, since I had plenty of those (peeled) and minced garlic as stated earlier, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I liked the outcome and will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Phenomenal! I added one large diced carrot to the crock, as well as a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar. This is the recipe I'll use for mashed potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States