Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I peeled about 3.5 lbs. of russet potatoes, and didn't use quite as much garlic powder as the recipe calls for. I also left out the milk and used 8oz sour cream and about 1 cup of shredded colby cheese (1/2 c butter). These mashed potatoes were the perfect consistency and SOOO creamy and flavorful. My entire family of picky eaters loved them! Reminded us of the "smashed potatoes" at one of our favorite restaurants! Thanks for sharing a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Made as stated, this is worth three stars. It's a nice dish to come home to, but not spectacular. However, I dressed this recipe up tonight for my company's pot-luck Christmas party. I drained off most of the water and added 1/3 of an 8 oz block of cream cheese, diced, and about 1/2 cup of sour cream, with about 1/2 a cup of milk, or less (I confess to not measuring). I mashed these with my electric mixer, then stirred in 1/2 cup of shredded colby/jack cheese. I covered the dish with another half a cup of cheese. At the party, my pot was scraped clean, and I even caught someone licking the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These worked great for me. I used minced fresh garlic, rather than powder. Adjusted butter, cream and seasoning at the end to taste. This worked great for an after church lunch with no fuss. I prepared the potatoes the night before and covered them with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
5 stars with some tweeking... I peeled the potatoes, used chicken broth for the liquid & a whole bulb of roasted garlic instead of the granulated garlic. I took some fresh sprigs of rosemary & draped them over the top while the were cooking. The rosemary infused the potatoes with the most amazing scent & flavor! When the potatoes were done cooking, I removed the rosemary sprigs & mashed them with butter & whole milk. They were hands down, the BEST mashed potatoes ever....Everyone agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaSommerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Super easy and absolutely wonderful! I increase the recipe to use 5 lbs of red potatoes. It is the perfect amount for Thanksgiving with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Mmmmm, this was very yummy! I added some fresh cloves of garlic. I sliced them and put them in with the potatoes while they were baking. Then I mashed them all together and it was very garlicky, just how we like it. Thanks for the crockpot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Excellent. Much denser than traditional mashed potatoes. I added several crushed whole cloves of fresh garlic which then got mashed into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I tried this recipe over the weekend and I really thought it was easy. I added a little bit more milk than what the recipe called for and I added some butter. They were great and I recommend trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
These were absolutely terrible!! The entire mess turned brown, and were extremely starchy. Sorry, this one just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were just ok for us. Every Thanksgiving I make 2 types of mashed potatoes for variety. I was happy to find this recipe being they are made in the crock pot, to save me time. I changed the recipe to 15 servings because I used 5 pounds of potatoes, and they were edible, not terribly bad, but not a favorite. To many of us, they tasted like roasted potatoes that were later mashed. They do save time and are passible, but I'm sure glad I had another pan to serve. Thanks for the recipe, but I prefer mashed potatoes made using the original method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States