Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very, very good. Instead of water, I used apple cider and I used whole milk. The whole family devoured this. Quite the nice breakfast to wake up to, smelling all wonderful and cheery. I'll make this again. NOTE: I used a steel cut oatmeal for this recipe. Very important to know that you'll get different results if you use a different type. Next time, I'll add the nuts right before serving, so it dosen't get all cooked in with the oatmeal. I'd like a little crunch. I should clarify, I used the "warm" setting on my Crockpot. Mine's an old 70's version that has one of those. I didn't have any issue with mine burning. I do go to bed really late so mine probably went into the crockpot closer to midnight so mine wasn't cooking any longer than six hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
what an amazing way to wake up for a busy saturday filled with kids soccer. i upped my liquids to a total of 6 cups of liquid. (4 water and 2 milk) i kept the nuts in large pieces and they stayed slightly crunchy. the low setting for 8-9 hours was perfect. there was a slight bit baked onto the sides, but a small price to pay. a quick soak with dishwasher powder and it is all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Easy Breezey for a large sleep over crowd. I found that I needed to add a bit more liquid to mine and the consistency was more like a baked oatmeal but very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly, and it actually ended up cooking for nearly 9 hours at which time it seemed like it was just about to start burning, so in the future I'll make sure to check it before then. Flavor and texture are both great, and I look forward to trying it with other dried fruits! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This oatmeal is really good! My sister and I put it in our in-a-jar baskets for Christmas, with an instructional tag. We, obviously, had to make some changes. Because we made so much, we put whatever nuts we found on sale (mostly wallnuts) and they were fine whatever way. We also put less of them, about 1/2 c. and that was enough. I also took the apples and dehydrated them by soaking them in a mixture of 1/4 c lemon juice and 1 quart of water to prevent them from browning. That took about 4-5 hours at 145*. This way the apples were preserved. We also used about a 1/2 c of those also; they plump back up just like the cranberries. Speaking of cranberries, we cut those back to about 3/4 c. I made this in a crockpot first with these changes, to make sure it tasted good, and it did. I think it had too much cinnamon so we cut it back to 2 teaspoons for the baskets and it was still very good. I think the pumpkin pie spice has cinnamon in it also so we weren't missing out. It started to get a little dry and burn by morning, so I think adding more water would help. This morning I made it on the stove and it only took a few minutes. I will definitely be making this again. I think I will assemble and mix the ingredients and store them for quick and easy access. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've used a similar recipe many, many times. First time it burnt to the pot. My basic-as-be Crock Pot tends to run hot, so I use tried the Keep Warm setting. Also, lay a dishtowel over the pot before you out the lid on to absorb condensation and keep it from dripping back in to make oatmeal "soggy mush". You will be pleasantly surprised in the AM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This recipe was super easy! I did not know you could cook oatmeal in a crockpot. Did leave the setting on warm since I read it may burn, turned out perfect in 8 hours. Delicious, & can use whatever you have on hand for the extras. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
cooked in microwave for 3 minutes. Amazing. I eat a variation of this every morning. Just prep the night before and it's ready to zap in the AM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved this oatmeal!! I did use 4 cups water and only cooked 7 hours. No burning. I added nuts at the end. Very healthy and a great way to start off the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
We really liked this recipe; I have to admit that I was looking for a "steel-cut oat" recipe this morning so I didn't get to use the slow-cooker method but next time I will do it that way! I ended up adding extra water and let simmer for about 40 min on low. I will not add the cranberries next time, they were a bit too tart. We put brown sugar, butter and a little salt on them. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States