Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is very delicious! Try using your crockpot as a double boiler. Place all your ingredients into a heat safe bowl that fits into your crockpot and then pour water into your actual crockpot bowl until it reaches the contents inside the inner bowl. This makes cleaning simple!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
After reading through all the reviews, may I suggest putting your crockpot on a timer, that way you can control how long it runs for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
The number of negative reviews makes me suspect some user error because my turned out perfect. No one has mentioned 'steel cut oats' which are VERY different from whole oats or quick oats and likely part of the issue with those who had failures. Additionally, you SHOULD NOT be checking it. It's important that the water remains IN the pot not being lost to the air or a towel! That is why you can use a lesser amount of water than what is called for on the package. Once you put the ingredients in the slow cooker, it is a good idea to stir everything but if the instructions are followed and the ingredients are correct and the crockpot isn't faulty (and it's set on low) - this should be impossible to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Try using whole (unrolled) oats, not steel cooked, or a mixture of brown rice & oats. I also increased the amounts to make a larger batch and that helped with the burning--try it with all water also to decrease the burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Extremely disappointing. Awakened to this great-smelling stuff, looking forward to a comfortable breakfast, only to find a burned mess! And I added extra water per the comments of others. Expensive ingredients to have to throw out. If I try again, will definitely use at least a 4:1 liquid to oatmeal ratio - probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I'm giving this four stars because even though there are some problems with this oatmeal as written, the idea and basic recipe are great. However, I had to use LOTS more liquid. I checked it just a couple of hours into the cooking time and it was already turning into an oatmeal cake! A quick internet search let me know that the ratio of oats to liquid should have been more like 1:3 or even 1:4. Also, I put my slow cooker on the "Keep Warm" setting and it was still a bit too done, i.e., the oats and fruit were a bit too mushy. I didn't use any nuts either, as I did not think I would care for them after cooking in liquid so long. I left out the butter, too, because I just felt it was unneeded. I had already given my crock a quick coat of cooking oil spray to keep the oatmeal from sticking. On the upside, with these adjustments and because it's so very good for us, I liked this and I will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Recipe is great as a base. So versatile! I did this during the day as I was not sure how it would behave in the crock pot. I am SO glad I did! There was not enough liquid and I had to add more, lots more. I added another cup of soy milk and at least another 1/2 cup of water. It also cooked in 6 hours not 8. Next time I make this I will not put the cranberries in at the start but wait until the last 1/2 hour or so as they loose their texture and sweetness as I like them. You may prefer the reconstituted berries in yours. I did add some Splenda and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup as I do like it sweet! Also had about 1/2 cup apple sauce I threw in to use up. I will omit the butter as the fat is really unnecessary and added nothing to the flavor IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have an old crock pot with only a high and low setting so maybe that was the problem, but had I not gotten up in the middle of the night and thought to check it, it would have burned for me too. I thought it needed a lot more liquid. I have put in a lot of water and milk to get it eatable. It has a good flavor but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Easy Breezey for a large sleep over crowd. I found that I needed to add a bit more liquid to mine and the consistency was more like a baked oatmeal but very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
what an amazing way to wake up for a busy saturday filled with kids soccer. i upped my liquids to a total of 6 cups of liquid. (4 water and 2 milk) i kept the nuts in large pieces and they stayed slightly crunchy. the low setting for 8-9 hours was perfect. there was a slight bit baked onto the sides, but a small price to pay. a quick soak with dishwasher powder and it is all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States