Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I always am pleased with the recipes I get from this sight...but I did not care for this one! It didn't have much flavor and it burned to the inside of my crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Made this with my BF, and the two of us went to the store and bought rolled oats because they didn't have steel cut, and assumed it would be fine. After reading some reviews we realized it might be a problem so we decided to only cook it for 4 hours. My sweetie got up at 4am to turn on the crock pot- so nice of him but completely defeats the purpose :) It tasted AWESOME though! The nuts were still crunchy and the oats were creamy but not too mushy. We bought some steel cut oats to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I had problems with the recipe as did other reviewers, though I think it has potential. I did get a lot of burnt oatmeal after 8 hours cooking, but what wasn't burnt was great! I think the burning might be related to the shape of our slow cooker one of the large oval kinds and maybe it runs hot. I think maybe the cinnamon was overkill. Next time on warm or add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Delicious!! :) Only cooked for 3 hours on high though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Aase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I should have read some reviews before making this recipe last night! I only paid attention to the 4 plus stars with the recipe...MISTAKE! I woke up to lovely smells, but in the slow cookier, this concoction was a sticky, burned mess! And it was very grainy in texture - the fruit was mushy, too. This was too costly to come out so badly, so I'll stick to making my steel cut oats the regular way, and topping it with chopped apples, raisins and nuts like I usually do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is very delicious! Try using your crockpot as a double boiler. Place all your ingredients into a heat safe bowl that fits into your crockpot and then pour water into your actual crockpot bowl until it reaches the contents inside the inner bowl. This makes cleaning simple!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
After reading through all the reviews, may I suggest putting your crockpot on a timer, that way you can control how long it runs for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
The number of negative reviews makes me suspect some user error because my turned out perfect. No one has mentioned 'steel cut oats' which are VERY different from whole oats or quick oats and likely part of the issue with those who had failures. Additionally, you SHOULD NOT be checking it. It's important that the water remains IN the pot not being lost to the air or a towel! That is why you can use a lesser amount of water than what is called for on the package. Once you put the ingredients in the slow cooker, it is a good idea to stir everything but if the instructions are followed and the ingredients are correct and the crockpot isn't faulty (and it's set on low) - this should be impossible to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Try using whole (unrolled) oats, not steel cooked, or a mixture of brown rice & oats. I also increased the amounts to make a larger batch and that helped with the burning--try it with all water also to decrease the burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Extremely disappointing. Awakened to this great-smelling stuff, looking forward to a comfortable breakfast, only to find a burned mess! And I added extra water per the comments of others. Expensive ingredients to have to throw out. If I try again, will definitely use at least a 4:1 liquid to oatmeal ratio - probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States