Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this last night. You MUST use steel cuts oats! Also, my crock pot runs 180deg. There is a WARM setting to reheat cooked foods... this is the setting I used. I added canned pumpkin instead of the apples. Also, chopped dried apricots & prunes. I forgot to spray with Pam, so after combining the ingredients & sprayed the sides & stirred. After 8 hours + it wasn't creamy, but after adding milk it was great! I'll make this again switching up the fruit.. thanks Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The entire family loved it! I added three CUPS of non-fat milk in addition to the water called out in the recipe. I also added four tablespoons of butter and brown sugar. It was flavorful, tastey and hardy. I cooked it for 8 hours on low in my crockpot. Next time I will add a little more water since I like my hot cereal to be thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I wasn't able to get this started the night before, but made on stove top...turned out fantastic. Only change I made was doing the apple cider instead of the milk like another suggested, mostly because I had on hand. You do have to cook Steel Oats a long time. Box said 30 minutes but I did additional 15 minutes. I'm going to try this in the Crock Pot next time, I love that a little bit fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was very good, but I made some changes. 2 cups milk and 2 cups water to make it creamier. I used all almonds (1 cup) because I didn't have pecans. I doubled the spices and added a tablespoon of Splenda brown sugar blend. I cooked it on "warm" and sprayed the crockpot with Pam before adding anything. I used raisins instead of cranberries. It was nice to wake up to breakfast already made, but it was a little bland, even with doubling the spices. I added more butter and brown sugar, as another reviewer suggested, and it was perfect. Delicious and healthy, even with the additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Be sure to use steel cut oats---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Set on Low on the crockpot overnight, this recipe burned all around the edges. And the part in the middle that wasn't burnt had almost no flavor at all. If I try this again, I will probably add about 1/2 brown sugar and will only cook it on Warm overnight or will cook it for only 2 or 3 hours on Low and then refrigerate for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Made this for a breakfast gathering recently and to be honest, it was a flop. It looked very unappealing and many wouldn't even try it. I followed the directions completely, and yes, it did stick to my crock badly. It was very thick when I first opened it so I added more milk just to be able to stir it. I added 1/3 cup at a time until I had added a full cup. I had been hoping for a creamy oatmeal but what I got was oat paste. The taste was just bland, but I am giving it 3 stars because, despite the look, I found that after adding a sprinkle of brown sugar and a pat of butter, I actually liked it, though I doubt I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEAMARKETADICT

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This makes a ton, good flavor but I don't know about leaving it overnight. It really hardens on the crock pot and makes it hard to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I really enjoy this. I do use more milk than water and sometimes raisins instead of cranberries. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States