Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was awesome! I made 24 servings, and ran out of room in my crockpot, but it turned out perfect! My crockpot tends to boil on "low" so I put it on "warm" overnight to be safe, and had no problems at all! I also left out the butter, and I doubt it made a difference at all. So tasty! It was a big hit at a staff breakfast, and I came home with very little left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I had to use old fashioned oats instead of steel cut, and it still came out perfectly. I also didn't add the pecans and almonds. I left my crock pot on warm instead of low after reading some other reviews. That was definitely a great tip. I'm sure I'll be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
After six hours on low it was way over-cooked and lost all the appeal that steel cut oats have. My kids liked it but then they like the instant stuff, which I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Maybe it was just me, or my slow cooker, but this recipe was not good at all. I did everything per the directions, and YUCK. I forced down one bowl and allowed myself the luxury of throwing the rest away, even though I don't like to waste. I love love love oatmeal, especially steel cut oats, but this was just bad. Overcooked, mushy and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Tasteless mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Followed the recipe as written. It was dry and lacked flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This turned out great! HOWEVER make sure your slow cooker is on WARM, not Low. Had I left it any longer it would have burned even on WARM. Otherwise it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyw73
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This steel-cut oats recipe has quickly become a new favorite in my diet. It's great as is but you can easily make substitions; I use 2 cups almond milk and 2 cups water. I also add a few handfuls of dry blueberries for extra fruit flavor. Serve with a drizzle of maple syrup -- or you can also serve it with approx 1/4 cup apple sauce - my personal favorite :). It freezes very well so you can prepare a large quantity in advance and freeze it in individual portions for quick and nutritious breakfasts when you are pressed for time. Just take out of the freezer the night before and reheat in the morning - and voila! The only advice I have for anyone attempting this recipe for the first time is to closely monitor your cooking progress. My crockpot cooks it perfectly after only 4 hours on the low setting. Thanks for sharing this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have any apples but used a fruit and nut mix I had gotten at the healthfood store. Cooked overnight on warm because I knew low would be too high. Turned on low for one hour when I got up. Added a little milk and brown sugar and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallie Alameda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States