Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
YUMMY!!I make this for all my picky eaters with a Tbl of brown sugar and a drizzle of maple syrup on top(stevia for me). It's cheap, smells and tastes wonderful. Add 3 extra cups water and cover crockpot with a towel so you won't have to worry about burning or sticking to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDESSB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I use 1-C steel cut oats, 1-C brown rice. I also add raisens - dates - etc. that I have in the house. Great and oh so good. I have never added butter ... N-Joy. God Bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
i was really excited to try this recipe! i made it for a staff meeting breakfast at work and it went over really well. so make sure you are using steel cut oats-you can't buy them at many mainstream grocery stores, you need to go to a whole foods or wegmans (or whatever natural food grocery store is near you). this is critical to avoid mushy or burned oatmeal. i also increased the milk by 1c. i added my nuts at the end which gave it a nice texture and crunch, but if you prefer just the flavor of the nuts and don't want them crunchy, then i'd follow recipe. if i were to make this again i would definitely cut my apples smaller - they weren't quite mushy enough for me and i picked most of mine out when i was eating it. i did significantly increase the cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice (doubled, at least). i also added about a cup of brown sugar in the morning, as it was far too bland for my taste. as i read other reviews i had debated about what heat to cook it at because my slow cooker is a beast...but i was afraid about it being undercooked if i only put it on warm (and i figured i could buy something else in the AM if i needed to if it burned!) so i did it on low and it was fine! the extra liquid helped i think, & it was not burned or dried out. wow this is a long review but i hope it helps someone! dont' be scared of this recipe by its so-so reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made this last night. Put it in crock pot on warm around 10pm. The only thing I did differently was add a pinch of salt and didnt add the nuts. I was up at 5 this morning and it looked like it needed a lot more liquid. I added a few more cups of milk..like half of my half gallon..lol. It was starting to stick to sides and bottom, but not really bad. I kept it on warm while I got some things done. Wasnt burnt and smelled wonderful! I ate it around 630 and it was good :) Even my 2 year old was eating it, and he NEVER eats oatmeal! Like I said it was sticking but I scraped it all down and mixed it together and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great breakfast! I make it on Sunday afternoon so it's all done for the week. By trial and error, I used steel cut oatmeal and I would recommend the liquid to oats ratio be 4 to 1, so I use 1 1/2 cups oats, 2 cups milk, 4 cups apple juice and cook it in the slow cooker on low for 4 hours. When I did overnight, the oats soaked up near all the liquid and it was getting a 'skin' on top. Great breakfast, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I have made this numerous times and it always turns out wonderfully. I also make this for camping trips and freeze in advance to reheat - also turns out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I wanted so much for this to be good, but alas, it wasn't. It didn't burn, but it did get hard at the bottom because it needed more liquid. I followed exactly, but to make it better, I would sub apple juice for the water (and add more of it), wait to add nuts until right before serving, add 1/2 tsp. salt and maybe some brown sugar. It was really bland, that which was edible. The milk did nothing for it. I used skim, so maybe next time use cream instead. Such a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is such a favorite in our house that I make extra so leftovers can be enjoyed days later by warming in the microwave. Be sure to use steel cut oats and not rolled oats for this recipe to work as-is, as well as using only the lowest "warm" setting on the crock pot. I always make with whole almonds and pecans for a more 'exciting' result, and dried cherries work well instead of cranberries but I've found raisins as a substitute are not tart enough. I also always use ~1.5c whole milk and replace the pumpkin pie spice with a mixture of 1/4 t cloves, 1/8 t nutmeg, and 1/4 t cardamom, plus 4T loose brown sugar and 3/4 t salt. For simplicity, I also use 2 whole apples rather than measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was awesome! I made 24 servings, and ran out of room in my crockpot, but it turned out perfect! My crockpot tends to boil on "low" so I put it on "warm" overnight to be safe, and had no problems at all! I also left out the butter, and I doubt it made a difference at all. So tasty! It was a big hit at a staff breakfast, and I came home with very little left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I had to use old fashioned oats instead of steel cut, and it still came out perfectly. I also didn't add the pecans and almonds. I left my crock pot on warm instead of low after reading some other reviews. That was definitely a great tip. I'm sure I'll be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States