Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Love this recipe! I subbed in frozen berries for the apples and only cook about 5 to 6 hours to avoid it sticking really badly to the pot. Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made this recipe the other night; turned out very good. In reading the other reviews about not taking 8 hrs.; I got this started late, at 1:15 a.m. and checked it at 7:15 a.m. and it was perfect at that time. Next time, I will add at least 1/2 c. more of liquid so the leftovers aren't so "stiff & thick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginapocan
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
There was a lot of flavor in this dish, however there was too many almonds for my taste, I think I will use less next time with maybe some crushed walnuts. I do think there should be some nutty flavor mixed it it. I didn't care for the slivers. The texture wasn't right for me. I also have to agree with another poster about adding the nuts later on cause they get cooked with the oatmeal. I also might do as one poster suggested and replace water with apple cider, that sounded scrumptious, but what I might do is use less of that though with more milk for creaminess. I also thought of adding maybe chopped up pineapple to the mix, and someone one time instead of apples to use peaches or pares, but wouldn't add the peaches until the end. It did come out mushy, so next time I will do as other posters did and try it on my Warm setting. Also mine was done hours before I got up, I could tell. I got to it in the 7th hour, and realized it was probably done 2 hours prior. Mine did burn as did many others. You can find a picture of my final result in the photo line up with the rest of the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginapocan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
The ingredients certainly have potential. I tried the same as others to check it and put it on warm versus low to make sure it didn't burn. It still did. The taste was also very bland and I am not one to add sugar but I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Is putting zero stars an option? I followed the directions exactly (which I guess was my big mistake) and when I woke up this morning it was a congealed, burned mess! Now that I am reading the reviews, I realize there were some things that needed to be changed; such as decreasing the heat to "warm" instead of "low" and adding a lot more liquid. Still, it is incredibly frustrating to me that a recipe with a rating of almost 4 stars just plain DOESN'T WORK unless you modify it in very significant ways. I was very disappointed by this recipe and will not attempt it again, even with the sage advice of the other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
YUMMY!!I make this for all my picky eaters with a Tbl of brown sugar and a drizzle of maple syrup on top(stevia for me). It's cheap, smells and tastes wonderful. Add 3 extra cups water and cover crockpot with a towel so you won't have to worry about burning or sticking to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDESSB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I use 1-C steel cut oats, 1-C brown rice. I also add raisens - dates - etc. that I have in the house. Great and oh so good. I have never added butter ... N-Joy. God Bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
i was really excited to try this recipe! i made it for a staff meeting breakfast at work and it went over really well. so make sure you are using steel cut oats-you can't buy them at many mainstream grocery stores, you need to go to a whole foods or wegmans (or whatever natural food grocery store is near you). this is critical to avoid mushy or burned oatmeal. i also increased the milk by 1c. i added my nuts at the end which gave it a nice texture and crunch, but if you prefer just the flavor of the nuts and don't want them crunchy, then i'd follow recipe. if i were to make this again i would definitely cut my apples smaller - they weren't quite mushy enough for me and i picked most of mine out when i was eating it. i did significantly increase the cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice (doubled, at least). i also added about a cup of brown sugar in the morning, as it was far too bland for my taste. as i read other reviews i had debated about what heat to cook it at because my slow cooker is a beast...but i was afraid about it being undercooked if i only put it on warm (and i figured i could buy something else in the AM if i needed to if it burned!) so i did it on low and it was fine! the extra liquid helped i think, & it was not burned or dried out. wow this is a long review but i hope it helps someone! dont' be scared of this recipe by its so-so reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made this last night. Put it in crock pot on warm around 10pm. The only thing I did differently was add a pinch of salt and didnt add the nuts. I was up at 5 this morning and it looked like it needed a lot more liquid. I added a few more cups of milk..like half of my half gallon..lol. It was starting to stick to sides and bottom, but not really bad. I kept it on warm while I got some things done. Wasnt burnt and smelled wonderful! I ate it around 630 and it was good :) Even my 2 year old was eating it, and he NEVER eats oatmeal! Like I said it was sticking but I scraped it all down and mixed it together and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great breakfast! I make it on Sunday afternoon so it's all done for the week. By trial and error, I used steel cut oatmeal and I would recommend the liquid to oats ratio be 4 to 1, so I use 1 1/2 cups oats, 2 cups milk, 4 cups apple juice and cook it in the slow cooker on low for 4 hours. When I did overnight, the oats soaked up near all the liquid and it was getting a 'skin' on top. Great breakfast, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States