Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We really liked this recipe for many reasons. Made pretty much as written but cut the recipe in half. Also, I did not have almonds so I added extra pecans, and I added an extra 1/4 c water toward the end. I love that it was easy to throw together and tasted great. I particularly liked the texture that the pecans added. The apple gave natural sweetness, and then DH and I could add whatever amount of brown sugar we wanted to suit our tastes. Next time I will make sure to have bananas on hand because I think they would be great sliced on top when serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I definitely would suggest adding liquid. I used 4 cups of almond milk and 2 cups of water and 1.5 cups of the steel cut oats. I had never cooked steel cut oats and was not aware of the difference quite honestly!!! Because of the reviews about burning and the fact that I have a crock pot with only a low and high setting, I had to get up during the nite to check it. It was starting to stick after about 6 hrs so I stirred and added some agave nectar and a little more salt and turned off the crock pot until the morning. I turned it back on low and stirred it some more and added 1 cup of h20 and it is delicious! I sampled it and its tasty! I did have to modify the recipe as many here did. This is not one to try if you have limited experience cooking, thats for sure!If I make it again, I will add 1 cup more of liquid than I did and set my alarm to check it after 6 hrs. I also think I could have used more spices since the oats swell and yield up more than what you think it will. Again, this is a good base recipe that needed a lot of tweaking. I was grateful I read the reviews first!!!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
It is good but like some others have suggested, I would add more liquid. General rule of thumb for cooking steel cut oats is one cup oats to three cups liquid. This did stick in my crockpot on the sides and bottom a little, even though I sprayed with cooking spray. I have a new crockpot that has timer and it will go to warm when finished cooking. I think a good addition would be vanilla soy or almond milk or coconut milk, just to add a tad of sweetness. My husband thought they were too dry and not sweet enough. I added milk when I heated mine up to eat and I like that it is not terribly sweet. Everything else about this recipe is terrific though and I will make again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
First time making steel cut oats. Used warm setting overnight for almost 9 hrs and turned out good. Added some brown sugar too and topped with a little maple syrup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I added all the ingredients to my rice cooker, and in about 20 minutes, I had an absolutely fabulous oatmeal that my husband loved. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made this according to the directions, and it turned out great! It does make a lot, but is freezer sturdy. As others have posted, the oats make the difference. I used steel cut oats. i would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I really liked the flavor of this dish. It was naturally sweet from the fruit. The texture took some getting used to. I thought the contrast between the super crunchiness of the nuts and the softness of the oats was really weird. Perhaps I'm just used to mushy oatmeal, but if I made the recipe again, I would cut down on the amount of nuts or increase the amount of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious and easy! I set my medium size crockpot to Low and it was all cooked and a bit dry at 5 hours, so I stirred in additional 1 to 1.5 cups water. The kitchen smelled wonderful, like apple pie. Fine to omit the butter. I used raisins b/c that's what I had, so I'll try cranberries next time! I sprinkled chopped walnuts just before serving to maintain good crunch- great! Also drizzled a tiny amount of honey on top per the kids' request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
After purchasing a Costco sized bag of steel cut oats, I searched AR for recipes and I came across this recipe. Delicious! Made this in my Zojirushi rice cooker as written on the porridge setting, no problem with burning and it was done in about 45 min. I added the oats and liquids to the pot to let the oats soften while I chopped apples and nuts. It is a little loose when you first open the cooker, but tightens up after sitting in the bowl for a few minutes. Also good because it will keep in the cooker for 2 or 3 days (if it lasts that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I prepared this last night with really good results. Completely paranoid by all the negative ratings here indicating it would burn on "Low", I forced myself to leave it alone all night, on the instructed "Low" and was pleasantly surprised to see it didn't burn at all. The flavor and texture was nice, and the description of the dish does indicate to serve with milk and brown sugar, which definitely helps. I didn't give it more stars because I didn't like the color of the oatmeal. It was a dark brown, due to the spices and cinnamon, and that made it look very unappealing. Aside from that however, this was a very easy and flavorful recipe, and the oatmeal itself was quite hearty and delicious. Glad I tried it but I don't know that I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States