Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I hate to give a recipe only one star, but this was truly awful for me. After reading the other reviews, I put it on low for an hour or so and then put it on warm right before I went to bed. After exactly 8 hours of cooking it was slightly burnt and tasted unappetizing. I wouldn't recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This did not turn out well. I added extra water after reading another review, and it still burned. It also did not have very good flavor and was very gummy. I would much rather make my oats in the morning and make a little more for later. I would not reccommend this recipe or method of cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booksandbutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I guess I should have read more of the reviews on this recipe because I too ended up with a burnt crockpot full of shockingly tasteless mush, that reminded me alot of chunky mud! Will try again but will cook for a shorter period of time. Also, definitely, add the nuts towards the end or they will have the taste and consistency of beans when they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I liked this a lot. The fruit made it naturally sweet and yummy. I did add about 3 extra cups of liquid, as I noticed the steel cut oats package called for over a 3 to 1 ratio, vs. the 2 to 1 in this recipe. It cooked overnight for 8.5 hours, and no burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This turned out pretty well. I only cooked it for six hours, and it was the perfect consistency, but my slow cooker does run hot, so I was expecting that. I had pretty tart apples, so I did add some brown sugar, and I waited to add the nuts until it was time to eat so they wouldn't lose their crunch. You could really alter the fruits, nuts, and spices in this to get a different taste every time. I will be making this more as winter sets in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This recipe was super easy! I did not know you could cook oatmeal in a crockpot. Did leave the setting on warm since I read it may burn, turned out perfect in 8 hours. Delicious, & can use whatever you have on hand for the extras. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Very good! I found the spice to be a little overwhelming so I cut it back to 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Adding a little extra liquid helps, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTMAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've used a similar recipe many, many times. First time it burnt to the pot. My basic-as-be Crock Pot tends to run hot, so I use tried the Keep Warm setting. Also, lay a dishtowel over the pot before you out the lid on to absorb condensation and keep it from dripping back in to make oatmeal "soggy mush". You will be pleasantly surprised in the AM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I also had the issue that a previous reviewer mentioned and when I woke up after exactly eight hours I was disappointed to find that the recipe had burned to the pot. I own a totally standard, no frills, Crock Pot brand pot but I use it regularly for recipes on this site with very good results. Despite the burning, I was able to salvage about 50% of the oatmeal. It didn't taste "burned" and what remained was tasty, if not exceptional. I may try this recipe again but I'll wait to see what other reviewers have to say in coming weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hock
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It was mushy and cooked much too long by the instructions. I agree that if it is a crock pot recipe, you shouldn't have to spend time checking the cooking. The ingredients are too costly to end up with this final product. I won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States