Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Tasted pretty good. Substituted apple juice in place of the water and slow cooked using the "warm" setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
cooked in microwave for 3 minutes. Amazing. I eat a variation of this every morning. Just prep the night before and it's ready to zap in the AM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fallowed the recipe. It smelled good looked good but wont be making this again. Sorry just wasnt to are likeing. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was pretty darn good! I used raisins and no nuts (picky eaters). I used rolled oats (that's what I had on hand) I chopped up 2 granny smith apples in my food processor put the rest of ingrediants in and used the "keep warm" setting on my slow cooker. (mine runs pretty hot). It came out perfect! A good stir and your ready to serve! A little milk or fat free half and half...delicious! I had a second helping later! Great breakfast idea for school mornings. Send them to the bus stop with something warm and filling in their belly! Not to mention, low fat, high fiber for Mom! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Turned out pretty tasty! If cooking on low setting, a shorter cooking time would be better. I cooked for 7 seven hours and it was a little burnt around the edges. I'd try this one again on the warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I hate to give a recipe only one star, but this was truly awful for me. After reading the other reviews, I put it on low for an hour or so and then put it on warm right before I went to bed. After exactly 8 hours of cooking it was slightly burnt and tasted unappetizing. I wouldn't recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This did not turn out well. I added extra water after reading another review, and it still burned. It also did not have very good flavor and was very gummy. I would much rather make my oats in the morning and make a little more for later. I would not reccommend this recipe or method of cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booksandbutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I guess I should have read more of the reviews on this recipe because I too ended up with a burnt crockpot full of shockingly tasteless mush, that reminded me alot of chunky mud! Will try again but will cook for a shorter period of time. Also, definitely, add the nuts towards the end or they will have the taste and consistency of beans when they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I liked this a lot. The fruit made it naturally sweet and yummy. I did add about 3 extra cups of liquid, as I noticed the steel cut oats package called for over a 3 to 1 ratio, vs. the 2 to 1 in this recipe. It cooked overnight for 8.5 hours, and no burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This turned out pretty well. I only cooked it for six hours, and it was the perfect consistency, but my slow cooker does run hot, so I was expecting that. I had pretty tart apples, so I did add some brown sugar, and I waited to add the nuts until it was time to eat so they wouldn't lose their crunch. You could really alter the fruits, nuts, and spices in this to get a different taste every time. I will be making this more as winter sets in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States