Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really wanted to like this, but the texture was less than desirable (pasty) and it wasn't sweet at all. My husband and kids didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We are off to IHOP. The burned mess is sitting in the kitchen sink soaking and waiting for our return. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Needs some sweetness...I sprinkled with brown sugar and drizzled with honey. Put on warm setting overnight and it didn't burn. May make again if I need to have something pre-prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Awful! It smelled wonderful but had no flavor and it is going to take me a week to clean out my slow cooker because it all stuck and burnt to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Good flavor! I added 1/2 tsp salt, as oatmeal can sometimes taste rather flat without it. I used 1/4 cup orange juice to replace 1/4 a cup of the water. Next time I'd add 1/2 a cup more liquid, as that might prevent the burning around the edges. I also sprayed my crock as recommended. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The ingredients sounded great, but mine ended up very heavy and gummy. I think you need to almost double the liquid that the recipe calls for. I cooked on low for only 4 hours and still have a cooked-on mess to clean out of the crockpot - I think 8 hours would have been a disaster. Flavor was okay - added some brown sugar and more cinnamon after it was done. The extra liquid might help, but I am not in a hurry to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Tasted pretty good. Substituted apple juice in place of the water and slow cooked using the "warm" setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
cooked in microwave for 3 minutes. Amazing. I eat a variation of this every morning. Just prep the night before and it's ready to zap in the AM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fallowed the recipe. It smelled good looked good but wont be making this again. Sorry just wasnt to are likeing. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was pretty darn good! I used raisins and no nuts (picky eaters). I used rolled oats (that's what I had on hand) I chopped up 2 granny smith apples in my food processor put the rest of ingrediants in and used the "keep warm" setting on my slow cooker. (mine runs pretty hot). It came out perfect! A good stir and your ready to serve! A little milk or fat free half and half...delicious! I had a second helping later! Great breakfast idea for school mornings. Send them to the bus stop with something warm and filling in their belly! Not to mention, low fat, high fiber for Mom! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States