Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed. It smelled great but it really needed something. My husband drown it in honey and said it was good. I am a Weight Watcher and it already is 4 pts so I didn't want to waste anymore pts on the honey. Sorry but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I very excited to try this recipe when I had family staying with me for the weekend but I was pretty disappointed with the end result. I cooked the oatmeal on the "keep warm" setting as other suggested and it had a great flavor but the texture was well, sticky, gummy and just terrible. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I really love this recipe. The one thing I did was oil my crock pot before adding ingredients & caused the oatmeal not to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was very easy to make. Tasted good..but i was expecting more of a "spicy" flavor. My family was calling this "porridge" and i'm not sure if thats a good thing. May try again using more cinnamon or adding nutmeg & ginger. Makes enough to feed an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Concert Trash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really wanted to like this, but the texture was less than desirable (pasty) and it wasn't sweet at all. My husband and kids didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We are off to IHOP. The burned mess is sitting in the kitchen sink soaking and waiting for our return. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Etherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Needs some sweetness...I sprinkled with brown sugar and drizzled with honey. Put on warm setting overnight and it didn't burn. May make again if I need to have something pre-prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Awful! It smelled wonderful but had no flavor and it is going to take me a week to clean out my slow cooker because it all stuck and burnt to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Good flavor! I added 1/2 tsp salt, as oatmeal can sometimes taste rather flat without it. I used 1/4 cup orange juice to replace 1/4 a cup of the water. Next time I'd add 1/2 a cup more liquid, as that might prevent the burning around the edges. I also sprayed my crock as recommended. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The ingredients sounded great, but mine ended up very heavy and gummy. I think you need to almost double the liquid that the recipe calls for. I cooked on low for only 4 hours and still have a cooked-on mess to clean out of the crockpot - I think 8 hours would have been a disaster. Flavor was okay - added some brown sugar and more cinnamon after it was done. The extra liquid might help, but I am not in a hurry to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States