Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Changed totally 2 cups water 2 cups almond milk, 1 cup diced dates, left the pecans and walnuts whole. 2 diced apples. And coconut oil instead of butter. Turned on 'warm' right before bed, perfect as is, or a little if real maple syrup drizzled on top. Put into pint jars and eat as a cold snack/breakfast at work. making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Krech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a delicious, healthy oatmeal! I read the reviews and decided to try it as is...it cooked 7 hours and definitely burned on the bottom of the crock pot the way other people talked about. I was able to salvage most of it, however, and it was delicious! I think next time I will definitely use the warm setting on my crock pot. Heads up--some reviews said as long as you use real steel oats it should be just fine...well...I used real steel oats--and not the quick steel oats...and it still burned a bit. I think it is all in the crock pot. Some just get hotter than others, even on low. If you have a warm setting, I would try that first after my experience. Really was a delicious and healthy recipe, though! Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forrestnightingale
Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am very glad I read other reviews before making this but I didn't take all of the suggestions and I should have. The MOST IMPORTANT thing to do in this recipe is use STEEL CUT OATS. They are not the same as Quaker oats. I had a hard time finding them in the regular grocery store and eventually found them in the bulk foods section. I took the suggestion of many others of not adding the nuts in while cooking - I prefer the crunchy texture they give when you add them after cooking. I also checked the crock pot after 6 hours and was quite glad I did because it was burning on one side of the pot. I was able to use almost the entire recipe still since I had caught it in time - I would NOT have wanted to find that if it had cooked another 2 hours. The suggestions I did not take that I should have was add more liquid. I will be adding at least another 1-2 cups of water and/or milk next time. The ratio of liquid to steel cut oats was not enough. The recipe DOES taste great! The flavors are all there and I will make this many times again, but using all of the suggestions I read from other reviewers. If I didn't have to adjust so many things this would have had 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Wow! Talk about stick to your ribs! This was very tasty. I stuck pretty close to the recipe with the following exceptions: I did not use the pumpkin pie spice (not a fan of it). I subbed half a cup of chopped dates for the pecans. I cooked this on low for 2 and a half hours and then 5 and a half hours on the "keep warm" setting. I did not have any issues with scorching or burning although the oatmeal seemed a tad dry so I added an additional cup of milk at the end which did the trick and made the oatmeal nice and creamy. I've never had steel cut oats before and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Make a double boiler out of your crock pot. Put the mixture in a heat safe bowl sprayed with Pam. Place the bowl in the crock pot. Add water in the crock pot about halfway up the bowl. You'll need to add about an hour to your cooking time. No burning! This method works great for other recipes too such as stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I think all the low ratings are due to the fact that they used the wrong Oatmeal, You MUST use STEEL CUT OATS!! Sometimes called Irish oats, or Scotch oats. They are gluten free so the oatmeal should not turn to mush or burn. I sometimes use just apples and cinnamon, or chopped apricots and almonds, the possibilities are endless. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is a good recipe. Changes I made were to add almond milk for regular milk and to exclude the butter and nuts. I will make it again, but I will add more liquid because it cooked dry (although not burnt) after 7 hours cooking on the low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This oatmeal is AMAZING! To think I hated oatmeal growing up! I did make it on the stove because I think my slow cooker runs hot. Follow the directions on the bag for the oatmeal/liquid ratio as I think you need more liquids for the stove. You can put the walnuts or pecans in while cooking but I would put the sliced almonds in after so they don't get mushy. I also added ground flax seeds to bump up the health factor. I think if you want to try it in the slow cooker, make it during the daytime first so you can watch the pot and see how long it will really take to cook in your crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Disappointed. I made this with high hopes to wake up on a cold and rainy spring morning. Didn't smell anything...oatmeal was very dark colored due to the cinnamon. Not burnt on the bottom of my crockpot but brown and hard--not appealing. Crasins were tasteless--will add them in after the cooking next time. Followed recipe but not happy with results--sorry Julie! I will try a few other crockpot steel oat recipes on the site because I do love it, but only when it is creamy. P.S. I do have a newer crockpot and I do not think the error was with the cooking time or temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States