Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
There are good and bad things about this recipe, written as is. The good things are the flavor mix and the concept. The apples, dried cranberries, nuts and cinnamon make for a really tasty flavor. The bad things are that the quantities listed in the ingredients and cooking time are not accurate, and you must, must, MUST use steel cut oats!!! There is no budging on this ingredient--rolled and/or instant oats would be a disaster. But I love steel cut oats. The big discrepancy in the recipe is that on the back of a steel cut oats container, you'll see for every 1 cup oats you need about 4 cups water. This recipe has a 1 cup oats: 1.5 cups water ratio. The packaging generally states 1 cup oats: 1 cups water. So add at LEAST 8 cups water for 2 cups oats if you're making this overnight on "keep warm." If it's on "low" you'll need 9 or 10 cups water, in my opinion. Especially if you might sleep in a little ;-) So keep the apples, add ins and spices, but be very careful to make sure the water to steel cut oats ratio is consistent with your oats' packaging instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a wonderful idea! I made a few adjustments adding almond milk and omitting the apples and nuts since they are not my favorite in cooked recipes. I made it the night before my husband had to get up at 4:45am to take his Dad to the airport. They woke up to a spice scent filling the home and a delicious breakfast before sending him on the plane. So much better than a granola bar in a hurry. Plus I got to sleep in and it kept warm until I got up for work. I can't wait to make it again as our family will have it devoured in about 2 days. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel P
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe is delicious!! I cook it on warm overnight instead of low to avoid sticking, and I also use an extra 1/2c of milk. I usually change up the dried fruit every time for variety and add an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Yummy every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I also use steel cut oats, apple juice,and whole milk. I always use a hard apple,usually honey crisp,or a granny smith. I like to mix it up, sometimes I use either a chopped dried fruit mix,sometimes sold as a fruit cake mix,(fruit not candied fruit),or chopped dried cherries and apricots. I add the almonds at the start and the pecans at the end. I double the pumpkin spice mix and I add freshly grated nutmeg to taste, about 1/2 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon. I also add 1/2 cup dark brown sugar. I put it all into a buttered souffle dish which I place in my crock pot. I add about 1 1/2 cups water around the edge. and cook on low 6-8 hours. I top each bowl with more freshly grated nutmeg, a dash of cinnamon, a sprinkle of brown sugar, dried raisins or cranberries and a tablespoon or two of cream, half and half or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Changed totally 2 cups water 2 cups almond milk, 1 cup diced dates, left the pecans and walnuts whole. 2 diced apples. And coconut oil instead of butter. Turned on 'warm' right before bed, perfect as is, or a little if real maple syrup drizzled on top. Put into pint jars and eat as a cold snack/breakfast at work. making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Krech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a delicious, healthy oatmeal! I read the reviews and decided to try it as is...it cooked 7 hours and definitely burned on the bottom of the crock pot the way other people talked about. I was able to salvage most of it, however, and it was delicious! I think next time I will definitely use the warm setting on my crock pot. Heads up--some reviews said as long as you use real steel oats it should be just fine...well...I used real steel oats--and not the quick steel oats...and it still burned a bit. I think it is all in the crock pot. Some just get hotter than others, even on low. If you have a warm setting, I would try that first after my experience. Really was a delicious and healthy recipe, though! Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forrestnightingale
Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am very glad I read other reviews before making this but I didn't take all of the suggestions and I should have. The MOST IMPORTANT thing to do in this recipe is use STEEL CUT OATS. They are not the same as Quaker oats. I had a hard time finding them in the regular grocery store and eventually found them in the bulk foods section. I took the suggestion of many others of not adding the nuts in while cooking - I prefer the crunchy texture they give when you add them after cooking. I also checked the crock pot after 6 hours and was quite glad I did because it was burning on one side of the pot. I was able to use almost the entire recipe still since I had caught it in time - I would NOT have wanted to find that if it had cooked another 2 hours. The suggestions I did not take that I should have was add more liquid. I will be adding at least another 1-2 cups of water and/or milk next time. The ratio of liquid to steel cut oats was not enough. The recipe DOES taste great! The flavors are all there and I will make this many times again, but using all of the suggestions I read from other reviewers. If I didn't have to adjust so many things this would have had 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Wow! Talk about stick to your ribs! This was very tasty. I stuck pretty close to the recipe with the following exceptions: I did not use the pumpkin pie spice (not a fan of it). I subbed half a cup of chopped dates for the pecans. I cooked this on low for 2 and a half hours and then 5 and a half hours on the "keep warm" setting. I did not have any issues with scorching or burning although the oatmeal seemed a tad dry so I added an additional cup of milk at the end which did the trick and made the oatmeal nice and creamy. I've never had steel cut oats before and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Make a double boiler out of your crock pot. Put the mixture in a heat safe bowl sprayed with Pam. Place the bowl in the crock pot. Add water in the crock pot about halfway up the bowl. You'll need to add about an hour to your cooking time. No burning! This method works great for other recipes too such as stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States