Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
FANTASTIC! Yum, yum! I liked that this does not contain sweetener of any kind, therefore, you can sweeten as desired - if desired. Tastes great. I chose to cook mine during the day, and then put the mixture in a container in the frig. When I was ready to eat, I scooped the amount I wanted into a microwavable bowl, added 1 or 2 Tablespoons of water, and nuked it for 1 min. I did not spray the crock, and the mixture DID stick, but I was ok with that. Soaking the crock overnight with soap & water makes it easy to clean. I used my old 3 Qt RIVAL crock. It doesn't have a "warm" setting - just "low" or "high".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I had given up on steel cut oats, too chewy and pasty,but this recipe has changed my mind. The oatmeal was creamy and flavorful. I added dates to mine and used almond milk instead of regular. As per others input, added extra cup of liquid and put nuts in at end. By early morning on low, the oatmeal was starting to get dry. May try to change setting to warm next time. Made lots! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
**UPDATE - Made a second batch, using the full amount, actually had milk this time but everything else same as last time. Put it on Low, 3 hours. Perfect! Love this recipe!!*** - This is my first recipe using steel cut oats. Based on reviews talking about it burning, and knowing my slow cooker runs hot on one side, I was more attention than I will be in the future. I did cook on "Keep Warm" and ended with an hour on "Low" but next time I'll go a full 6 hours on "Keep Warm" and see how it goes. I had NO issues with too much liquid, didn't do the towel tip, and didn't add more than the recipe called for. I had no apples so I substituted in a fat 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce (made a half batch btw!). Didn't have pecans so subbed in roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. Lastly had no milk, so used evaporated milk that'd been cut with water (1/2 & 1/2) for the recipe. In the hopes my daughter would like this, I also added some stevia. Just finished eating a bowl that I reheated, adding a bit more milk and a drizzle of honey. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaxNY
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Loved this! Only had rolled oats so used those... no pumpkin spice handy, so I added nutmeg. Doubled the cinnamon, added prunes, left out the pecans. Also added brown sugar and a little more milk. I cooked on warM for 5 hours (after reading reviews). Cut the apples in 1/2" pieces which kept them intact. My husband raved! No issues with burning whatsoever. Big enough batch for breakfast for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
There are good and bad things about this recipe, written as is. The good things are the flavor mix and the concept. The apples, dried cranberries, nuts and cinnamon make for a really tasty flavor. The bad things are that the quantities listed in the ingredients and cooking time are not accurate, and you must, must, MUST use steel cut oats!!! There is no budging on this ingredient--rolled and/or instant oats would be a disaster. But I love steel cut oats. The big discrepancy in the recipe is that on the back of a steel cut oats container, you'll see for every 1 cup oats you need about 4 cups water. This recipe has a 1 cup oats: 1.5 cups water ratio. The packaging generally states 1 cup oats: 1 cups water. So add at LEAST 8 cups water for 2 cups oats if you're making this overnight on "keep warm." If it's on "low" you'll need 9 or 10 cups water, in my opinion. Especially if you might sleep in a little ;-) So keep the apples, add ins and spices, but be very careful to make sure the water to steel cut oats ratio is consistent with your oats' packaging instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a wonderful idea! I made a few adjustments adding almond milk and omitting the apples and nuts since they are not my favorite in cooked recipes. I made it the night before my husband had to get up at 4:45am to take his Dad to the airport. They woke up to a spice scent filling the home and a delicious breakfast before sending him on the plane. So much better than a granola bar in a hurry. Plus I got to sleep in and it kept warm until I got up for work. I can't wait to make it again as our family will have it devoured in about 2 days. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela La Tourette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel P
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe is delicious!! I cook it on warm overnight instead of low to avoid sticking, and I also use an extra 1/2c of milk. I usually change up the dried fruit every time for variety and add an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Yummy every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I also use steel cut oats, apple juice,and whole milk. I always use a hard apple,usually honey crisp,or a granny smith. I like to mix it up, sometimes I use either a chopped dried fruit mix,sometimes sold as a fruit cake mix,(fruit not candied fruit),or chopped dried cherries and apricots. I add the almonds at the start and the pecans at the end. I double the pumpkin spice mix and I add freshly grated nutmeg to taste, about 1/2 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon. I also add 1/2 cup dark brown sugar. I put it all into a buttered souffle dish which I place in my crock pot. I add about 1 1/2 cups water around the edge. and cook on low 6-8 hours. I top each bowl with more freshly grated nutmeg, a dash of cinnamon, a sprinkle of brown sugar, dried raisins or cranberries and a tablespoon or two of cream, half and half or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Changed totally 2 cups water 2 cups almond milk, 1 cup diced dates, left the pecans and walnuts whole. 2 diced apples. And coconut oil instead of butter. Turned on 'warm' right before bed, perfect as is, or a little if real maple syrup drizzled on top. Put into pint jars and eat as a cold snack/breakfast at work. making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Krech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Diddles Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States