Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very, very good. Instead of water, I used apple cider and I used whole milk. The whole family devoured this. Quite the nice breakfast to wake up to, smelling all wonderful and cheery. I'll make this again. NOTE: I used a steel cut oatmeal for this recipe. Very important to know that you'll get different results if you use a different type. Next time, I'll add the nuts right before serving, so it dosen't get all cooked in with the oatmeal. I'd like a little crunch. I should clarify, I used the "warm" setting on my Crockpot. Mine's an old 70's version that has one of those. I didn't have any issue with mine burning. I do go to bed really late so mine probably went into the crockpot closer to midnight so mine wasn't cooking any longer than six hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly, and it actually ended up cooking for nearly 9 hours at which time it seemed like it was just about to start burning, so in the future I'll make sure to check it before then. Flavor and texture are both great, and I look forward to trying it with other dried fruits! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
After making many, many dishes from this wonderful website, this is my first total failure. I even read other reviews first for slow cooker oatmeal, and was forewarned about it turning to mush and burning the crock pot. I sprayed the crock with Pam, and being the eternal optimist, I thought that would not happen to me... :( No such luck. I do have a crock pot that runs "hot." One reviewer said hers was the same and she cooked it on the "warm" setting. I should have listened. I will try this again, but during the day when I am awake to monitor it. Well, off to scrub my crock pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It was mushy and cooked much too long by the instructions. I agree that if it is a crock pot recipe, you shouldn't have to spend time checking the cooking. The ingredients are too costly to end up with this final product. I won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I also had the issue that a previous reviewer mentioned and when I woke up after exactly eight hours I was disappointed to find that the recipe had burned to the pot. I own a totally standard, no frills, Crock Pot brand pot but I use it regularly for recipes on this site with very good results. Despite the burning, I was able to salvage about 50% of the oatmeal. It didn't taste "burned" and what remained was tasty, if not exceptional. I may try this recipe again but I'll wait to see what other reviewers have to say in coming weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hock
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've used a similar recipe many, many times. First time it burnt to the pot. My basic-as-be Crock Pot tends to run hot, so I use tried the Keep Warm setting. Also, lay a dishtowel over the pot before you out the lid on to absorb condensation and keep it from dripping back in to make oatmeal "soggy mush". You will be pleasantly surprised in the AM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Very good! I found the spice to be a little overwhelming so I cut it back to 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Adding a little extra liquid helps, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTMAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This recipe was super easy! I did not know you could cook oatmeal in a crockpot. Did leave the setting on warm since I read it may burn, turned out perfect in 8 hours. Delicious, & can use whatever you have on hand for the extras. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This turned out pretty well. I only cooked it for six hours, and it was the perfect consistency, but my slow cooker does run hot, so I was expecting that. I had pretty tart apples, so I did add some brown sugar, and I waited to add the nuts until it was time to eat so they wouldn't lose their crunch. You could really alter the fruits, nuts, and spices in this to get a different taste every time. I will be making this more as winter sets in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I liked this a lot. The fruit made it naturally sweet and yummy. I did add about 3 extra cups of liquid, as I noticed the steel cut oats package called for over a 3 to 1 ratio, vs. the 2 to 1 in this recipe. It cooked overnight for 8.5 hours, and no burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States